Looking for Answers about NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router?

Customer Questions & Answers for
NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router

With easy setup and exceptional range, this wireless router will conveniently expand your home's or office's wireless network.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions
 | 
153 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.344 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Questions & Answers for NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router

Question

Is it possible to just buy the power cord for this?

1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Texas
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not that I have seen but the power suppy uses a common connection. I was able to use the power supply/cord from my Linksys router on the Netgear router. You might go through your junk drawer full of old powere cords and cables and find one that works. Good luck.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
ConfusedByReview
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Take it to Radio shack and they will match the correct power supply.
4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Carl
 from
Detroit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work in belgium?

we have hard wired internet but we need wifi in our apartment
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
with the right power adapter this will work anywhere in the world.
3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
My daughter's dorm room is hard wired and it worked fine
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
BobW
 from
Phila
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, It works.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the signal range for a router?

I am looking for a router that will pick up a signal that is approximately 250ft away. Is that possible?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ch
 from
riverside
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will have to buy at least two signal boosters roughly 80 apart from one another and from the router. I get 1 bar through a wall at 100 feet.
1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
thepeebs
 from
riverton, ut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Most routers effective range is up to 50-100ft if you are planning to use Netflix for example. You will need a repeater to extend the range up to 250ft.
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
pdxlifer
 from
Clackamas, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There are longer range routers out there that will reach 250ft, but it will be a fairly slow connection rate. Also, if there is anything inbetween each endpoint, that will greatly affect the range and signal rate. You can use wireless repeaters to extend your WIFI network out however, this might be an option for you
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with windows 7

1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I use this with windows 7 & 8 and haven't had any problems.
4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
EvenfloML
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, will work with any operating system, Mac, Windows, Linux, etc.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes it does work with windows 7 and 8. It comes with a cd containing their NetGenie software which makes setting the router up a breeze.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Josiah
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
yes, works with windows 8 and 7
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
tummytickler
 from
denton
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, this router will work with Windows 7.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have cinder block wall can that be blocking the signal to the added on room will a better router help?

1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mojo
 from
Nj
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
A stronger router will help a little yes, but there will always be limitations especially if there is metal in the wall as well.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it can block the signal. Ur router should be dual band, if 2.4ghz fails try to connect to 5ghz. If that won't do either try to hardwire to that add on room and if desired u can put another router in there. Or get wifi extender the one extends through electricity . Good luck
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Vrdo
 from
Glendale, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to Configuring a router without a desktop or laptop?

Was going to buy one of your routers to use with my ipad and apple phones. Question, can I configure the router using only my ipad? I don't have a desktop or laptop. If not, will/can best buy configure it before I leave the store?

Thanks

Joe
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Joe
 from
Apple Valley, MN
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
You may be able to do so with the iPad as it is basically the same as any other computer. Try it and if it doesn't work bet it back to the store before the return time runs out.
3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You should be able to configure it directly from the IPAD. Hook the router up as directed, and connect to the new network. It should prompt you to go to the configuration page for the router, but if not, just go to the IP address for the router from your browser on the IPAD, typically 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1, and configure to your specifications.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have my iPad, iPhone, and iPods hooked up to my Netgear Wireless Router. It was very easy to do.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
naenae781
 from
Perkinston, MS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes you can just go to your iPad or android tablets browser and go to 192.168.1.1 and follow instructions that comes device.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Murfdogla
 from
Hammond,LA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The Netgear N300 comes configured with a wireless SSID and Passphrase so you should be able to configure it via an iPad over WiFI.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
WyoRocks
 from
Fresno, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes you literally do it through a Web browser via Wifi.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
You can, the router come with ssid and password ready. It just plug in and use.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
emgcci
 from
Orlando, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
The router can, indeed, be set up using the browser available on your tablet or phone. Just keep in mind that not all menu functions may be accessible through a mobile browser.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do i set the security on my 300 netgear?

5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tahoe
 from
Glenwood, Minnesota
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
it should have come out of the box with a name and password already, mine did
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
pne65
 from
az
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I had no problem with just reading the directions that came with router and I'm NOT tech savvy. good luck.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
nellie63
 from
athens, ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
1. Press the Push 'N' Connect button on the front of your router. The router WPS button will start
to blink:
• The router will enable WPA/WPA2 security with a PSK security password and will create
a random SSID.
• It will then transmit its SSID and security settings to your client device.
• A message should display on your client device noting the connection status.
2. Go to your client device and follow the instructions on your client device networking utility
for connecting to the router. You have approximately 2 minutes to complete your connection.
If no connection is detected:
• The WPS light will blink intensely for a few seconds and then cease blinking.
• Neither the SSID nor the WPA/WPA2 security settings will be configured on the router.
• A “not successful” message should display on your client device. (The WPS detection
may have timed out; try again.)
If a connection is established:
If you choose to use Push 'N' Connect (WPS), the security methods supported are
WPA-PSK and WPA2-PSK. WEP with Shared key authentication is not supported
by WPS.
1. Push 'N' Connect can also be used to connect additional wireless clients if security is set to None.Configuring Your Wireless Network 26
• The WPS light will cease blinking.
• The router will have generated an SSID, implemented WPA/WPA2 wireless security
(including a PSK security password), and transmitted these settings to the client; the client
now shares the same security settings as the router.
• A “Success” message should display on your client device.
After configuring wireless security on your router, either by using “Using Push 'N' Connect (WPS)
to Configure Your Wireless Network” on page 24, or by setting up wireless security manually (see
“Setting Your SSID and Wireless Security Manually” on page 23), you can add additional clients
to your network by using the Push 'N' Connect button or by logging in to your wireless router.

Source: http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/WNR3500LV1/WNR3500L_SM_11JUN2010.pdf
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Nader
 from
Los Angeles CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Both wireless passphrases and MAC filters can be set up through the router's main menu. For step-by-step instructions how to access this menu and to change these settings, please refer to your owner's guide of the official FAQs on Netgear's website. If you'd like assistance setting up your home network's wireless security, remember that Best Buy also offers home networking services.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what version number and Ipv6

What is the version number? does this router supports Ipv6? Network monitor usage built in software?
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
arp
 from
Durham
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This router does have IPV6 and it does have a network monitor as well as a usage counter. You can limit individual MAC addresses with it also.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
BrianCK
 from
North Port, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have that router. Currently it's in V4. It supports iPv6, in many ways: pass through, 6to4 tunnel, DHCP, etc.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Online multiplayer help please

I have a ps4 but when i play online i lag and cant play so if i bought this router could i just simply hook it up to my modem and it should be able to connect
Will it cost additional money on my internet bill ?
Thank you for answering
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GameroftheCentury2000
 from
Galloway
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
The lag you have has nothing to do with your local network. It most likely has more to do with your internet service rather than your setup in your home. Make sure you are setting the NAT to "Open", this is usually the default setting. check what internet speed you are currently getting from your service provider (Comcast, Verizon, At&t, etc...).

You will need to set the router up, it is easy. If you have a computer it comes with a CD and instructions. If you do not, you can read the instructions on setting the router up manually. DO CHANGE YOUR DEFAULT PASSWORD. And setup a passphrase.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
BrianCK
 from
North Port, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You should be able to play once you connect your router. You shouldn't get any extra charges but that depends on internet provider.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
diva69
 from
Hartford CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, your ps4 will be able to connect to the wifi sent by a router. It will not cost you anything else per month, as long as you already have internet.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RaggedyAnn
 from
Choctaw, Ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Should not cost you anymore money. I have this one and have it hooked up to a comcast modem.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
debbie
 from
madera, pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, that should work. I have it hooked to my AT&T DSL modem/router, and it works fine. Use the NetGear software and set it up as a bridge/switch (don't use the internet router function). It will act as a regular switch on your network, and give you additional network connections and a strong,fast wi-fi connection.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DSLuser
 from
Little Rock, AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I'm in a house with several devices on my wifi network. TV, multiple Mac's, phones, iPads and gaming systems. i have experienced no lag in my online game play. You can use the Apple Extreme base station as a stand alone router or it can be added to an existing network to boost the signal. If your ISP is providing a wifi modem and router then you could use it in addition to that one to help boost the signal strength. If not just connect it to your modem via ethernet cable and it will provide a very strong mulit- standard dual band signal. There wont be any additional charge from your ISP.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
diablofett5k
 from
chesterfield, mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

wireless router install

I would like to add the router to a desktop to create a network. I would like to add an ereader for ease of use. Is this possible without cable Co intervention?
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. That is one of the main reasons to get a router. It also performs a service called NAT (network address translation). This allows you to connect multiple device to your single internet connection form the cable company (or DSL).

Most routers have some easy to use setup wizards.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
WyoRocks
 from
Fresno, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. You will not need to involve the cable company at all.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
BrianCK
 from
North Port, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Assuming you have a cable modem/router, just connect this router to the cable modem, then your PC to this router. Use the NetGear software to set up this router as a bridge/switch (no internet router function). I will give you some additional network ports and a good, fast wi-fi connection.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DSLuser
 from
Little Rock, AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I listed myself as technologically challenged, and I was able to do this myself in just a few minutes. Adding the ereader reguired logging on to the new network and entering the network password, but this happened automatically after the first time.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
marciee
 from
Canfield, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You would need to supply more information...
The router enables you to have your own LAN which multiple devices can be connected to it.
This router specifically allows 4 computers to be hard wired to the back of the device.
You can also connect many devices wirelessly to this router.
I do not have an eReader so you would need to look at the eReader manual to see if it allows you to connect this device to a wireless network.
You do not need the cable company to connect your device to your internal network... However if you plan on being able to connect any of you computers or wireless devices to the internet you will need an Internet Service Provider (ISP) that you connect this router to...
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NDTechShopper
 from
Fargo, ND
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>