Looking for Answers about NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router?

Customer Questions & Answers for
NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router

With easy setup and exceptional range, this wireless router will conveniently expand your home's or office's wireless network.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions
 | 
188 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Questions & Answers for NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router

Question

How much will my bill be each month

How do I get internet without a inter provider
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Posted by: 
Salliesue
 from
Thomson ga
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's not extra you must already have a router from your internet company.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You basically can't. You could use your cell phone as a hot spot but the data transfer rates would get expensive. You're only other option is to piggyback off a neighbor's signal with their permission.
1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeH17
 from
Sherwood, AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to stop Netgear WNR2000v3 from disconnecting periodically from internet

I have tried resetting to default setting, updating drivers--it said the firmware was already updated, when I tried to adjust settings in the wireless section of the netgear genie, I wanted to try changing the channel, it gave me an error message "wps changes cannot be applied now, try later"--paraphrasing. I found advice online to set up with the pin # instead of push button, but it is not clear if there is a pin on the back of the router, nothing is marked as pin. Do you have any suggestions? Or if I need to buy a new one, which one do you recommend to use with Comcast?
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is probably from your ISP . I have wind stream and they are terrible.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I wish it had more range and it can handle more than one computer.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Cybertron5000
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You may need to contact your provider for assistance.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

2 STORY CABIN

I have a 2 story 500 sf cabin and was wondering if this is able to be downstairs in a cupboard and we can be upstairs will the computer?
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dc
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I use mine outside by the fire about 150 feet away and still have strong signal.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, no problem. I have a 2200 sq ft house and have an excellent signal everywhere.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
katsfarm
 from
bonifay, fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
My unit works in a larger than 500 sf footprint two-story residence. Don't
see why yours shouldn't.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
doctor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
yes
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
honeybunny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I keep mine in an upstairs bedroom with the door closed. I connect from main floor of my house. I have never had any problems with this product.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Kkckkc123
 from
St. Louis, mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
It should work well. We have a 2300 sq ft house and it reaches to the furthest corner of the house and through several walls.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
daquanabe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I install without the CD?

I've misplaced the Installation CD that goes with my upgrade to WNR2000 (N300).
Can I simply use the Installation CD that goes with my old WGR614 (G54), or
could I download the proper installation files from the net?

I have a related query. My Comcast service provides 105 Mbps. Speedtest with my G54 router indicates I'm getting 95 Mbps d/l, 12 Mbps u/l. What can I expect to gain with the upgrade N300 router.

Thank you for your response.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
tenunderpar
 from
Wilmington,MA
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
All you need to do is type in your router home address it does the rest.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You are never going to actually get the 105mbps no matter which router you use. There will be a loss at some point in your connection. The best thing you can do is put the best hardware you can on your side to ensure it's not your side causing the problem.

As per installation. You should not need the cd for installation. There should be an ip address that is default for it printed somewhere and if you plug in wired you should be able to use that ip address in the address bar of your browser to get to the router. Once there, you should be able to set it up.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
wtfjim2
 from
Chattanooga tn
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You would need to go their support website to obtain the information or if you are IT savy you can simply go to the IP address of the device and set everything up within.

Your internet speed is based on best effort and even though you are upgrading your router don't expect to see a real difference in speed.
-Companies like comcast provide internet to multiple residents over the same pipe and that is why you will see fluctuations at times. This router is capable of doing over 200mb I believe so in theory you should be able to do what comcast provides you. Also your speed is only as fast as your devices NIC.

Your NIC is the network card in your device and some are only capable of doing 10/100MB and nothing more.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to just buy the power cord for this?

3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Texas
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes on the bottom it will tell you input voltage just get a universal to match.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Not that I have seen but the power suppy uses a common connection. I was able to use the power supply/cord from my Linksys router on the Netgear router. You might go through your junk drawer full of old powere cords and cables and find one that works. Good luck.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ConfusedByReview
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes. Take it to Radio shack and they will match the correct power supply.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Carl
 from
Detroit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work in belgium?

we have hard wired internet but we need wifi in our apartment
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you would take your Router (COMCAST,AT&T, ETC) and make a connection from it to this via ethernet cord.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
with the right power adapter this will work anywhere in the world.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
My daughter's dorm room is hard wired and it worked fine
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BobW
 from
Phila
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, It works.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the signal range for a router?

I am looking for a router that will pick up a signal that is approximately 250ft away. Is that possible?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ch
 from
riverside
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Maybe on a clear day.
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Basically No. you would need to buy a repeater instead of a wifi router.
-if it did stretch your speed would be greatly reduced.

-Wifi routers are generally not strong since they are sold to consumers with houses near by.
-The speed and distance is also affected by the type of material the signal is penetrating through.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You will have to buy at least two signal boosters roughly 80 apart from one another and from the router. I get 1 bar through a wall at 100 feet.
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
thepeebs
 from
riverton, ut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Most routers effective range is up to 50-100ft if you are planning to use Netflix for example. You will need a repeater to extend the range up to 250ft.
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pdxlifer
 from
Clackamas, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
There are longer range routers out there that will reach 250ft, but it will be a fairly slow connection rate. Also, if there is anything inbetween each endpoint, that will greatly affect the range and signal rate. You can use wireless repeaters to extend your WIFI network out however, this might be an option for you
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with windows 7

3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes and windows 8
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I use this with windows 7 & 8 and haven't had any problems.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
EvenfloML
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, will work with any operating system, Mac, Windows, Linux, etc.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes it does work with windows 7 and 8. It comes with a cd containing their NetGenie software which makes setting the router up a breeze.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Josiah
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
yes, works with windows 8 and 7
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
tummytickler
 from
denton
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Yes, this router will work with Windows 7.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have cinder block wall can that be blocking the signal to the added on room will a better router help?

3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mojo
 from
Nj
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Maybe try lifting in air away from any electrical wiring
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It will fade some of your signal but generally a cinder block wall is only going to cause a 4-8db loss. If the router is within a 50-75 feet you should be fine with something like this.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
A stronger router will help a little yes, but there will always be limitations especially if there is metal in the wall as well.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, it can block the signal. Ur router should be dual band, if 2.4ghz fails try to connect to 5ghz. If that won't do either try to hardwire to that add on room and if desired u can put another router in there. Or get wifi extender the one extends through electricity . Good luck
 
Products from my answer
 
Amped Wireless - WREC-15A Hi Power Compact Ac Wifi Extender
 
 
 
 
 
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Vrdo
 from
Glendale, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to Configuring a router without a desktop or laptop?

Was going to buy one of your routers to use with my ipad and apple phones. Question, can I configure the router using only my ipad? I don't have a desktop or laptop. If not, will/can best buy configure it before I leave the store?

Thanks

Joe
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Joe
 from
Apple Valley, MN
on NETGEAR - Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
10 answers
Answers
answer 1
Try entering router homepage directly
2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You should be able to configure it from your ipad. You would go to the default gateway IP address listed on the device or in the manual.

This IP will populate once plugged into your router.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You may be able to do so with the iPad as it is basically the same as any other computer. Try it and if it doesn't work bet it back to the store before the return time runs out.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You should be able to configure it directly from the IPAD. Hook the router up as directed, and connect to the new network. It should prompt you to go to the configuration page for the router, but if not, just go to the IP address for the router from your browser on the IPAD, typically 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1, and configure to your specifications.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I have my iPad, iPhone, and iPods hooked up to my Netgear Wireless Router. It was very easy to do.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
naenae781
 from
Perkinston, MS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes you can just go to your iPad or android tablets browser and go to 192.168.1.1 and follow instructions that comes device.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Murfdogla
 from
Hammond,LA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
The Netgear N300 comes configured with a wireless SSID and Passphrase so you should be able to configure it via an iPad over WiFI.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
WyoRocks
 from
Fresno, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Yes you literally do it through a Web browser via Wifi.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
You can, the router come with ssid and password ready. It just plug in and use.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
emgcci
 from
Orlando, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
The router can, indeed, be set up using the browser available on your tablet or phone. Just keep in mind that not all menu functions may be accessible through a mobile browser.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>