Looking for Answers about Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Use this Slingbox PRO HD to take the show on the road and enjoy crisp high-definition sporting events, TV or movies through your notebook, cell phone or a TV at your office or a hotel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions
 | 
67 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.685 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(111 Reviews)111

Questions & Answers for Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Question

How many remote users can access at the same time?

I travel frequently, my daughter travels as well. If we have PRO HD can we both access the home based TV and essentially have three parties watching three different TV channels?
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Only one user can be logged in at one time on one device.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Only one person can access the Slingbox at a time.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
payroll
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
In short, no. The SlingBox replicates exactly what is showing on your television. Imagine you are sitting in front of your TV at home - You can set your DVR to record a show on a separate channel (in most cases), but you cannot view two channels at once.

Also, SlingBox only allows you to have one user connected at a time. So, even if you and your daughter wanted to watch the same program, only one person would be able to access the SlingBox. The person viewing at home will still be able to watch the TV, of course. However, they will need to watch the same program that you would like to view via the SlingBox. As a side note, you can change channels on the home TV through the SlingBox. This can prove to be rather humorous if the person watching at home doesn't know about this feature :)

The only solution for your situation is to purchase two SlingBoxes and connect them to receivers that no one else will be using. Connecting the SlingBoxes in bedrooms that no one uses during the day would probably be best. That would preserve the TV that is used the most at home.

This could run your cost of equipment and apps to around $650.. Not sure how much of a priority TV on the road becomes at this cost. Keep in mind that your internet connection will need to be very good as well to keep up with all the streaming.

Hope this helps. Good luck!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The Slingbox PRO-HD allows you to connect and stream from multiple video devices (DVR, Blu-Ray player, etc.), but only user can be connected at any given time. Also, because the Slingbox duplicates your home viewing experience, both the home and remote viewers will see the same thing.

The Sling Support Staff
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will the slingbox work with a Directv High Definition DVR?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it does.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Slingbox works with all of the Directv HD DRV's. The Slingbox will work with any cable or satellite set top box that has standard video outputs.

Here is a support article that explains the video outputs we support.
http://support.slingbox.com/go/pro-hd-video

To search for your set top box remote you can use this support article to search all of the remotes we support.
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-5000164.html
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes; picture is 1080-i only though.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does slingbox work??

My sister lives in pa but want the ny channels and I live there can she watch my channels without disturbing me while im watching something else.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Whatever tv you hook it up to, she would control when she is watching. My friend has a spare bedroom in their house, and they hooked it up to that tv since they never watch that tv. Their cousin splits their cable bill.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Depends..if you change channels on the sling box it will change changes on the cable box...but if you have your own box it will not disturb her. If you are sharing one..it will.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JStep
 from
Cary, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This is normal behavior, but in the article listed below, there are a couple of alternative solutions which might help:

When I change channels on my Slingbox, they also change at home
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000136.html

Aside from the suggestions there, the only other way to access the same content without disturbing other home viewers is to connect a dedicated set-top box/DVR to the Slingbox -- one that isn't shared my anyone else in the home.

Hope that helps!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When I travel to Chile where I have High speed internet access can I access my Direct Tv DVR Programing?

2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can watch your live TV and anything you have recorded on the satellite box connected to the Slingbox.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, you can, as long as you have a configured Slingbox connected to your DirecTV set-top box.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Software Download

Do you have to use the specific disc that comes in the box with the SlingBox? I was thinking of ordering it for store pickup in the states for my parents to set up and I am in Korea would they have to send me the software to download on my computer or can I use the disc someone else got with theirs? I am looking to have it for Super Bowl
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Megan
 from
South Korea
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You don't need to download software to set up your Slingbox. The only think you will need to install is a browser plugin.

Setup is done through browser at http://setup.Slingbox.com.
Watch is done through browser at http://watch.Slingbox.com
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I simply downloaded the software from the internet and it worked fine.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, the Slingbox does not include any software on disc. You will only need to install a browser plugin from http://setup.slingbox.com.

However, standard configuration requires you to use a computer on the same network as the Slingbox. So, you'll need to either guide your parents through the setup or use a service like LogMeIn to take control of their computer remotely to do it yourself.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work with wireless router

Will my wireless router be a good enough internet connection? Do I need anything else besides the box to be able to watch TV on my iphone from my Comcast HD DVR/Cable box?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Michael
 from
Home
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would not use wireless to connect your slingbox to your router; you need extra slingbox equipment plus the connection won't be as good. However, I watch TV over the wireless router on my iPhone all the time and it works just fine. You have to download the slingbox app from the iTunes store (~$30) to watch it on your iPhone or iPad. It is worth every penny; i watch TV on the train with nothing but a 3G signal and the picture is great.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Here are a few articles from our Support Web that can help you get answers to your questions.

http://support.slingbox.com/go/faq gives you answers to common questions about what you need to use your Slingbox.

http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-1000108.html goes into the specifics about what you need in the way of a router, video source, computer, browser, etc.

http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000134 provides information on the minimum PC and Network & Bandwidth requirements

All 3 of these documents should answer all of your questions about what is required for you to watch TV on your iPhone from Comcast HD box.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

ipad

Will it work on an ipad?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes; you can download the slingbox app off the itunes store. The app is ~$30 but is completely worth it. I have it on my iPhone and I have no issues watching HD TV on nothing but 3G network.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it will work on the iPad. Once you buy your Slingbox just go to the Apple App Store and download SlingPlayer for iPad. The cost of the app is $29.99.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you watch TV at the same time the slingbox is in use?

Can someone be at home watching one channel on the TV while someone watches another channel on a PC while while away from home?
 
Products related to my question
Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
3.7 out of 5(111)
 
 
 
Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
3.7 out of 5(129)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Watching your TV with your Slingbox is just like watching your TV at home ... literally! So no you can't watch 2 channels at once, but here is a Support article that can explain it to you and tell you how you can.

http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000136.html
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes; anything that is done by either user will appear on both screens. If you change the channel or bring up a menu using slingbox, your family sees the same thing on the tv back home. No watching different things on the same cable box. Also, only one person can access the slingbox at a time. So if you're thinking about giving your password out to all your friends, DON"T because you'll be fighting for TV time.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get rid of cable if I have high speed int?

If I buy a slingbox,can I get rid of cable/dish,if I have high speed jnternet connection?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
painterzep
 from
WV
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You need to have a content source. If your Slingbox is in another location (Parent's house or something) and all you have is a strong internet connection, then yes. You don't need more. But, it is not 100% as easy to use as picking up a remote and flipping through channels. It is not bad, but if you like to flip, it might be a bit frustrating.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need to have Cable or Satellite where your Slingbox is located. This is where you get your programming from.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Using two seperate Directv receivers?

If I have two seperate DirecTv receivers, can I hook the slingbox up to one and the other box will still allow someone at home to watch something seperately?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jone8317
 from
Woodbury, NJ
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but the person at home who wants to watch something else would need to be watching on the receiver not being used by the Slingbox (only if the Slingbox is in use.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, exactly. Many customers hook their Slingbox up to a second Cable or Satellite receiver so they do not effect what other family members are watching at home.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>