Looking for Answers about Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Use this Slingbox PRO HD to take the show on the road and enjoy crisp high-definition sporting events, TV or movies through your notebook, cell phone or a TV at your office or a hotel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions
 | 
67 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.685 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(111 Reviews)111

Questions & Answers for Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Question

How many remote users can access at the same time?

I travel frequently, my daughter travels as well. If we have PRO HD can we both access the home based TV and essentially have three parties watching three different TV channels?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Only one user can be logged in at one time on one device.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Only one person can access the Slingbox at a time.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
payroll
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
In short, no. The SlingBox replicates exactly what is showing on your television. Imagine you are sitting in front of your TV at home - You can set your DVR to record a show on a separate channel (in most cases), but you cannot view two channels at once.

Also, SlingBox only allows you to have one user connected at a time. So, even if you and your daughter wanted to watch the same program, only one person would be able to access the SlingBox. The person viewing at home will still be able to watch the TV, of course. However, they will need to watch the same program that you would like to view via the SlingBox. As a side note, you can change channels on the home TV through the SlingBox. This can prove to be rather humorous if the person watching at home doesn't know about this feature :)

The only solution for your situation is to purchase two SlingBoxes and connect them to receivers that no one else will be using. Connecting the SlingBoxes in bedrooms that no one uses during the day would probably be best. That would preserve the TV that is used the most at home.

This could run your cost of equipment and apps to around $650.. Not sure how much of a priority TV on the road becomes at this cost. Keep in mind that your internet connection will need to be very good as well to keep up with all the streaming.

Hope this helps. Good luck!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The Slingbox PRO-HD allows you to connect and stream from multiple video devices (DVR, Blu-Ray player, etc.), but only user can be connected at any given time. Also, because the Slingbox duplicates your home viewing experience, both the home and remote viewers will see the same thing.

The Sling Support Staff
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When I travel to Chile where I have High speed internet access can I access my Direct Tv DVR Programing?

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can watch your live TV and anything you have recorded on the satellite box connected to the Slingbox.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, you can, as long as you have a configured Slingbox connected to your DirecTV set-top box.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

How does slingbox work??

My sister lives in pa but want the ny channels and I live there can she watch my channels without disturbing me while im watching something else.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Whatever tv you hook it up to, she would control when she is watching. My friend has a spare bedroom in their house, and they hooked it up to that tv since they never watch that tv. Their cousin splits their cable bill.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Depends..if you change channels on the sling box it will change changes on the cable box...but if you have your own box it will not disturb her. If you are sharing one..it will.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JStep
 from
Cary, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This is normal behavior, but in the article listed below, there are a couple of alternative solutions which might help:

When I change channels on my Slingbox, they also change at home
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000136.html

Aside from the suggestions there, the only other way to access the same content without disturbing other home viewers is to connect a dedicated set-top box/DVR to the Slingbox -- one that isn't shared my anyone else in the home.

Hope that helps!
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will the slingbox work with a Directv High Definition DVR?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it does.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Slingbox works with all of the Directv HD DRV's. The Slingbox will work with any cable or satellite set top box that has standard video outputs.

Here is a support article that explains the video outputs we support.
http://support.slingbox.com/go/pro-hd-video

To search for your set top box remote you can use this support article to search all of the remotes we support.
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-5000164.html
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes; picture is 1080-i only though.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Software Download

Do you have to use the specific disc that comes in the box with the SlingBox? I was thinking of ordering it for store pickup in the states for my parents to set up and I am in Korea would they have to send me the software to download on my computer or can I use the disc someone else got with theirs? I am looking to have it for Super Bowl
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Megan
 from
South Korea
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You don't need to download software to set up your Slingbox. The only think you will need to install is a browser plugin.

Setup is done through browser at http://setup.Slingbox.com.
Watch is done through browser at http://watch.Slingbox.com
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I simply downloaded the software from the internet and it worked fine.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, the Slingbox does not include any software on disc. You will only need to install a browser plugin from http://setup.slingbox.com.

However, standard configuration requires you to use a computer on the same network as the Slingbox. So, you'll need to either guide your parents through the setup or use a service like LogMeIn to take control of their computer remotely to do it yourself.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work on a plane for super bowl to maui

will this work on a plane to maui ? delta flt for superbowl day thank you
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
friesian
 from
scottsdale az
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes if the plane has internet access.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SolarJim
 from
Cary, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it will work if you have a fast enough Internet connection. Check out this link for the requirements. http://www.slingbox.com/go/slingbox-prohd-techspecs
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the Slingbox PRO HD produce a quality HD picture on a 60" LED TV?

I have a 2nd home in NC, which I visit a week at a time ~ 6 times a year. I got tired of connecting and disconnecting cable TV there and I'm looking for an alternative method to watch HD TV while in NC. I'll gladly give up the local NC channels to be able to watch Philly sports. Also, what internet speed is recommended for the Pro HD model? Is the internet connection/speed only needed at the receiving location, NC in my case?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Drisk
 from
Doylestown, PA
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not my experience. I have the fastest internet speed available from Comcast but the picture quality was at best only "acceptable". You will likely get a watchable picture but nothing like a local HD channel.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
radius1
 from
Schaumburg, Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The upload speed in the Slingbox location determines your best possible streaming video quality. The download speeds in the remote location will need to either meet or exceed your home upload speed to get the most from your Slingbox.

Also, take a look at our PRO-HD system requirements page (http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000043.html), which includes the minimum network speeds needed for SD and HD streaming.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to have an HD Directv DVR in order for the HD Slingbox to work in HD?

Right now my Directv DVR is not HD, but I am going to purchase the HD Slingbox and need to know if I should upgrade my DVR.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It broadcasts what you are feeding the slingbox. If your cable isn't HD, then it won't send HD.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you will need an HD video source (DVR, cable box, etc.,) to stream HD quality from your Slingbox.

Be sure to review our system requirements page (http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000043.html) for more information.

Hope that helps!
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it work with a MAC

I have charter cable for my mac and my dvr cable boxes. Will i be able to hook up sling pro if i dont have windows?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SBSquared
 from
reno
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the Slingbox can be setup and watched on both Mac and PC.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cauchon
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it works on a Mac! I use it on my Mac everyday with my Comcast Cable.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are you able to watch a different channel at home as the one being watched on my pc?.

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope. They will watch what you watch..or you watch what they watch...you will need multiple receivers/tuners for that. This slingbox will only allow you to view 1. I've had it for 1 yr...it's great for 1 person watching...or you sharing your TV with someone watching the same show.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HaOsLsE
 from
AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. Hook the sling box up to the least watched tv in your home. Example - if you have it hooked up to your living room tv, if you change the channel on the computer, it will change the channel in the living room. If you hook it up to a bedroom tv that is watched less often, it will avoid any conflicts.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>