Looking for Answers about Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Use this Slingbox PRO HD to take the show on the road and enjoy crisp high-definition sporting events, TV or movies through your notebook, cell phone or a TV at your office or a hotel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions
 | 
67 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.685 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(111 Reviews)111

Questions & Answers for Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD

Question

How does slingbox work??

My sister lives in pa but want the ny channels and I live there can she watch my channels without disturbing me while im watching something else.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Whatever tv you hook it up to, she would control when she is watching. My friend has a spare bedroom in their house, and they hooked it up to that tv since they never watch that tv. Their cousin splits their cable bill.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Depends..if you change channels on the sling box it will change changes on the cable box...but if you have your own box it will not disturb her. If you are sharing one..it will.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
JStep
 from
Cary, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This is normal behavior, but in the article listed below, there are a couple of alternative solutions which might help:

When I change channels on my Slingbox, they also change at home
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000136.html

Aside from the suggestions there, the only other way to access the same content without disturbing other home viewers is to connect a dedicated set-top box/DVR to the Slingbox -- one that isn't shared my anyone else in the home.

Hope that helps!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get rid of cable if I have high speed int?

If I buy a slingbox,can I get rid of cable/dish,if I have high speed jnternet connection?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
painterzep
 from
WV
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You need to have a content source. If your Slingbox is in another location (Parent's house or something) and all you have is a strong internet connection, then yes. You don't need more. But, it is not 100% as easy to use as picking up a remote and flipping through channels. It is not bad, but if you like to flip, it might be a bit frustrating.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need to have Cable or Satellite where your Slingbox is located. This is where you get your programming from.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many different computers can I use?

If I use the SB with my computer at work (which stays at work), can I also use the SB with another computer at a different location or must you haul around the same computer to your different locations? Example: use the SB with computer at work. Use the SB with a different computer at vacation cabin. Thank you.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
PA
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can use it on any and as many computers as you want...However..you can only have 1 connection at a time with this. I have owned this for about a year and it's just great to have on my home DVR and watch it remotely anywhere, anytime.

You can even watch it from your computer desk, my kids do that if they're in their room and don't want/need the surround sound or screen size of our living room setup.

So, you can use it on UNLIMITED computers...but only 1 active at a time.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HaOsLsE
 from
AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Streaming from your Slingbox only requires you to have the SlingPlayer browser plugin installed, and that you're logged in to your Sling Account. The plugin can be installed onto as many computers as you'd like. The only restriction is that only one person can stream from the Slingbox at a given time.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between Sligbox Solo versus Slingbox PRO HD?

Differences MODEL SB 300-100 versus MODEL SB 260-100
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Marcelo
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Solo, is NOT HD...so if you want HD and a clear picture...get the PRO HD.

Even with the component in, the Solo is nowhere near as crisp as the Pro HD. I had them side by side with the same show on...my friend at work had a Pro while I had the solo...I went and got the pro after seeing that.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HaOsLsE
 from
AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Take a look at our comparison page at http://www.slingbox.com/go/slingbox-prohd-help-me-choose to see the differences between the Slingbox SOLO and Slingbox PRO-HD.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I access On Demand function on my home cable box (Channel 1) with Slingbox

1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can use your cable box just as if you were on the couch...it has infrared sensors to use just like your remote...there is a virtual on screen remote. So it will be just like you were in front of it...but if someone is in that room watching that TV / Cable box...it will also change their channels.. :)
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HaOsLsE
 from
AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Slingbox should allow you to view your on-demand content remotely, just as long as it isn't copy-protected.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are you able to watch a different channel at home as the one being watched on my pc?.

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope. They will watch what you watch..or you watch what they watch...you will need multiple receivers/tuners for that. This slingbox will only allow you to view 1. I've had it for 1 yr...it's great for 1 person watching...or you sharing your TV with someone watching the same show.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HaOsLsE
 from
AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. Hook the sling box up to the least watched tv in your home. Example - if you have it hooked up to your living room tv, if you change the channel on the computer, it will change the channel in the living room. If you hook it up to a bedroom tv that is watched less often, it will avoid any conflicts.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the set up to stream directv to my expatriate location in Japan using the sling box.?

I will be there for some years with no home in the US. I could move my directv account to a friend's house here in the US to keep the account. I will have Internet connection in Japan.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Our FAQ page should help answer your questions about the minimum requirements for the setup and use of the Slingbox PRO-HD.

http://www.slingbox.com/go/slingbox-prohd-faq
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What Internet ready TV brands support sling watch?

I want to use a TV instead of a computer to stream content to my remote location.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
We and our sons - all use Slingbox on SAMSUNG HD Tv's... AND on our IPads - and on our Mac laptops.... all work fantastic... like being in your living room back home.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DownersDoll
 from
Downers Grove, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The following media streaming devices are the only supported methods for watching your Slingbox on a TV: Boxee Box, WD TV Media Player, Logitech Revue.

Visit our SlingPlayer for Connected Devices product page at http://www.slingbox.com/go/spcd for more information.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it guaranteed that I can watch a different channel from what is being watched at home?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No! If someone in your home - is watching TV which has Slingbox hooked to it, then you must watch what they are watching!

If you are the only one using the Slingbox at the time - then you can control the channels! When we got our first Slingbox - we would play tricks on our son who was watching in the home... and we would change the channel - and he would change it back! So - you have to watch what the home TV is watching.

SO - we have two cable boxes in our primary residence - we will buy 2 slingboxes - and so the HOME TV can watch what they want at home - or in their other apartment... and we can watch what WE want while traveling or at our 2nd home out of state.

This enables us to cancel the cable portion of our bills in our 2nd homes and apartments...and just pay for high speed internet.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DownersDoll
 from
Downers Grove, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Which ever cable box your slingbox is attached to will only transmit one signal. So if the person at home changes the channel, you will see your channel change on your computer (and the other way around). As a matter of fact, both ends see all the menu surfing, etc. that the other does. My advice is to make sure to hook this up to a box or TV that you don't use much. OR, just call your cable company, order another box and leave it in the cabinet only attached to your slingbox.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

With a Slingbox, can I watch all the channels when I am overseas, including HBO?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox PRO HD
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The answer is that it depends on the content and what your home setup is like.

If your set-top box is connected to your TV via HDMI, there's a good chance that certain content may be restricted by HDCP copy protection. This is more likely to affect premium content channels, such as HBO and Showtime.

However, it may be possible to work around this issue by connecting your TV and set-top box via component cables, instead.

Take a look at our support article at http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-5000188.html for more information on HDCP, its effects and the possible workaround.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely anything you can do with your remote at home, you can do on your slingbox. As far as the overseas question, you should check on the slingbox website for its availability abroad. I know, for example, that netflix would not work for me in Spain but most other websites were available.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>