Looking for Answers about HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black

HP Pavilion 14-c015dx Chromebook: This full-size Chromebook brings together ultraportability and productivity. With an spacious HD screen on par with many laptops, you can see and do in comfort. Learn more about Chromebooks ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions
 | 
51 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(178 Reviews)178

Questions & Answers for HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black

Question

Does this laptop come with built in security? Like Norton Security or something like that?

I was wondering if this came with security or if I had to buy security as an extra.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Chromebooks have built-in virus protection so they do not need a separate security package.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
omegasun
 from
Ohio
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Chromebooks do not use outside programs. No, you don't need antivirus, firewalls, antispyware, etc. with Chromebooks. On my laptop I use AVG antivirus, Zone Alarm firewall, SuperAntiSpyware, Malwarebytes and Ccleaner. None of those will work or are needed on Chromebook.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It's built in.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
brerrabbit
 from
El Mirage, AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Norton security or any other security is not pre-installed.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Windows 8 Included?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This uses Chrome OS which is not a windows OS. IT will not have Windows 8 on it. Chrome OS is basically an OS designed to allow you to use the cloud and Chrome Browser to work on the laptop. IT has limited offline functionality and can not install windows programs. If you are familiar with cloud based offerings such as Google docs, google drive/dropbox, Google play. these are all web tools that you use to accomplish what you need.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
omegasun
 from
ohio
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No windows 8 isn't included.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
destinyrose
 from
New Mexico
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, my Chromebook came with Windows 8. It is not a touch screen and I haven't had any problems so far (as I know many people who have gotten Windows 8 on regular computers have had many complaints about it).
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No, it runs on the Google Chrome operating system.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you play a CD with this computer?

I see you cannot record a CD with this computer, but can you play one?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, there is no disk drive on a Chromebook.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. There is no CD/DVD drive built into this device.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Egram
 from
Naples, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can't.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This HP PC does not have an internal optical drive, you may be able to purchase an external USB optical drive.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

hp chromebook

Can i download microsoft office on a chrom book.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
rob
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No. Chromebooks do not work like regular computers, you will not be downloading outside programs for anything. For those tasks you will use Google programs, Google docs, applications or extensions from the Chrome store. I use Chromebook primarily for my internet access. I still use my laptop for internet and all other computer tasks.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, you can't and you don't need it. You have Google Docs or you could use Office in the cloud.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Im sorry, no, Chromebooks use Google Docs, which is very similar to Microsoft Office.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a web cam available or Skype?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cinder
 from
Las Vegas
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, there is a camera on the top center above the screen. Google uses "Hangouts" which is an app pre-loaded on the machine & is also on my Android phone.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HPchromebookfan
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is a webcam, but to my knowledge, Skype is not an option with the Chrome OS. You have to use Google's version of video chat - but I have not personally ever attempted to use it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JTJAB
 from
Washington, DC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC comes standard with a HP TrueVision HD Webcam with integrated digital microphone. However, it does not come with Skype preinstalled on it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with a bluetooth headset and/or google voice recognition?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Speedo
 from
KC MO
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it has bluetooth and yes it will do just fine your google voice recognition
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC does have Bluetooth so a headset should not have a problem.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I download a movie on an external drive to connect w/o Internet?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Bam110
 from
NYC
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends on where you download it from mostly. You can get browser extensions for torrents and whatnot and the unit has 16GB of hard drive so you'd be able to download the file. For moving it to an external device I'd probably use a flash drive though unless you are proficient with networking and wanted to go that route. So yes you can but it might be a little harder than a regular laptop as it's just not what Chromebooks are made for imho.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
0XZ0
 from
Rochester, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does the chrombook come with office installed? or anything to type up school essays or do powerpoints?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
The HP Pavilion 14 Chromebook comes with Google Sheets (which acts like EXCEL) and Google Docs (which acts like WORD) and Google Slides (which acts like POWERPOINT). I have only used Google Sheets and Google Docs and they are very close to the MICROSOFT versions I mentioned, plus I didn't have to pay extra for them.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dettv
 from
Davenport, IA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes since it comes with Google Drive which used to be called Google Docs, it's all web based equivalents to Word, Excel, and PowerPoint (basically Quickoffice). However it's not full featured as the actual MS Office. JH
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jhdezjr
 from
Calexico, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Goggle has a app that's called google docs.. It's not bad for what you want to do. It's web based.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vulcan1600
 from
Edison, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can open, edit, and share word and excel files using the free built-in editor on this HP PC.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you save images/videos like on a normal HP?

Do you have to save images and whatnot in Google drive, or is there a 'files' button like on an HP?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jae
 from
Texas
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I own this device and you can store them on the internal drive that has 16GB of storage or to Google Drive since they do give you 100GB of free cloud storage for 2 years, you could also use a USB flash drive, external hard drive, or SD card. JH
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jhdezjr
 from
Calexico, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can also save documents and pictures on a flash drive.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CapeSoftwarePublisher
 from
Cape Cod, MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can save files and images on the 16GB solid-state drive that is installed.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Photos

Can you download photos from your camera?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cinder
 from
Las Vegas
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an SD card slot as well as USB connection. I haven't used it yet but would think it would be saved into Google Drive
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HPchromebookfan
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. I'm not much into photos, but I have taken a couple with my smartphone (android) just to experiment. Worked fine. You can "sync" with any android based phone, or e-mail them to yourself.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JNETZ
 from
Massillon, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC comes standard with a Multi-format digital media card reader for Secure Digital cards and Multimedia cards.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>