Looking for Answers about HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black

HP Pavilion 14-c015dx Chromebook: This full-size Chromebook brings together ultraportability and productivity. With an spacious HD screen on par with many laptops, you can see and do in comfort. Learn more about Chromebooks ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions
 | 
51 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.403 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(176 Reviews)176

Questions & Answers for HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black

Question

Does this laptop come with built in security? Like Norton Security or something like that?

I was wondering if this came with security or if I had to buy security as an extra.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Chromebooks have built-in virus protection so they do not need a separate security package.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
omegasun
 from
Ohio
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Chromebooks do not use outside programs. No, you don't need antivirus, firewalls, antispyware, etc. with Chromebooks. On my laptop I use AVG antivirus, Zone Alarm firewall, SuperAntiSpyware, Malwarebytes and Ccleaner. None of those will work or are needed on Chromebook.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It's built in.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
brerrabbit
 from
El Mirage, AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Norton security or any other security is not pre-installed.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you play a CD with this computer?

I see you cannot record a CD with this computer, but can you play one?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, there is no disk drive on a Chromebook.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. There is no CD/DVD drive built into this device.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Egram
 from
Naples, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can't.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This HP PC does not have an internal optical drive, you may be able to purchase an external USB optical drive.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Is Windows 8 Included?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This uses Chrome OS which is not a windows OS. IT will not have Windows 8 on it. Chrome OS is basically an OS designed to allow you to use the cloud and Chrome Browser to work on the laptop. IT has limited offline functionality and can not install windows programs. If you are familiar with cloud based offerings such as Google docs, google drive/dropbox, Google play. these are all web tools that you use to accomplish what you need.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
omegasun
 from
ohio
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No windows 8 isn't included.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
destinyrose
 from
New Mexico
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, my Chromebook came with Windows 8. It is not a touch screen and I haven't had any problems so far (as I know many people who have gotten Windows 8 on regular computers have had many complaints about it).
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No, it runs on the Google Chrome operating system.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

hp chromebook

Can i download microsoft office on a chrom book.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rob
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No. Chromebooks do not work like regular computers, you will not be downloading outside programs for anything. For those tasks you will use Google programs, Google docs, applications or extensions from the Chrome store. I use Chromebook primarily for my internet access. I still use my laptop for internet and all other computer tasks.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MenagerieMom
 from
California
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, you can't and you don't need it. You have Google Docs or you could use Office in the cloud.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Im sorry, no, Chromebooks use Google Docs, which is very similar to Microsoft Office.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a web cam available or Skype?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cinder
 from
Las Vegas
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, there is a camera on the top center above the screen. Google uses "Hangouts" which is an app pre-loaded on the machine & is also on my Android phone.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
HPchromebookfan
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is a webcam, but to my knowledge, Skype is not an option with the Chrome OS. You have to use Google's version of video chat - but I have not personally ever attempted to use it.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
JTJAB
 from
Washington, DC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC comes standard with a HP TrueVision HD Webcam with integrated digital microphone. However, it does not come with Skype preinstalled on it.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with a bluetooth headset and/or google voice recognition?

1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Speedo
 from
KC MO
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it has bluetooth and yes it will do just fine your google voice recognition
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ClaudioSaaS
 from
Mexico City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC does have Bluetooth so a headset should not have a problem.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I download a movie on an external drive to connect w/o Internet?

1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bam110
 from
NYC
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends on where you download it from mostly. You can get browser extensions for torrents and whatnot and the unit has 16GB of hard drive so you'd be able to download the file. For moving it to an external device I'd probably use a flash drive though unless you are proficient with networking and wanted to go that route. So yes you can but it might be a little harder than a regular laptop as it's just not what Chromebooks are made for imho.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
0XZ0
 from
Rochester, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does the chrombook come with office installed? or anything to type up school essays or do powerpoints?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
The HP Pavilion 14 Chromebook comes with Google Sheets (which acts like EXCEL) and Google Docs (which acts like WORD) and Google Slides (which acts like POWERPOINT). I have only used Google Sheets and Google Docs and they are very close to the MICROSOFT versions I mentioned, plus I didn't have to pay extra for them.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dettv
 from
Davenport, IA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes since it comes with Google Drive which used to be called Google Docs, it's all web based equivalents to Word, Excel, and PowerPoint (basically Quickoffice). However it's not full featured as the actual MS Office. JH
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jhdezjr
 from
Calexico, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Goggle has a app that's called google docs.. It's not bad for what you want to do. It's web based.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vulcan1600
 from
Edison, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can open, edit, and share word and excel files using the free built-in editor on this HP PC.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Photos

Can you download photos from your camera?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Cinder
 from
Las Vegas
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an SD card slot as well as USB connection. I haven't used it yet but would think it would be saved into Google Drive
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
HPchromebookfan
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. I'm not much into photos, but I have taken a couple with my smartphone (android) just to experiment. Worked fine. You can "sync" with any android based phone, or e-mail them to yourself.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
JNETZ
 from
Massillon, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC comes standard with a Multi-format digital media card reader for Secure Digital cards and Multimedia cards.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Compared to my gateway PC what can I not do with the chrome note book?

Can I received videos for viewing my grandchildren?
can I store things on my chrome note book?
Does the manual give you complete instructions on how to use it...
how would you compare to a Apple IPad?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Jude
 from
Wisc
on HP - Pavilion 14" Chromebook - 4GB Memory - 16GB Solid State Drive - Sparkling Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Chromebook has built in camera so you could video chat using Skype or Google's Hangouts (a built-in application), you could receive their videos via email and play them. There is no manual but a tutorial that starts when you power it on for the first time. I don't know much about the IPad but I can tell you this is a much better option as far as price is concerned. You asked if you can store things, the answer is no and yes. It does not have an internal memory on the machine itself but you can store pictures, word/note files & spreadsheets etc using you Gmail login into Google Cloud. A feature that once you open it is a little easier to understand.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
HPchromebookfan
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can watch videos of your grandchildren. There isn't a lot of memory on board to save things but you get a large amount of memory through Google when you buy this. There is no paper manual besides a setup guide but Google provides a very good help guide online.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Alexige
 from
Orange County, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You should not have any problems viewing videos, you can store things on the 16GB Solid State drive. the users manual for this HP PC does show you how to use this HP PC. You can view or download the users manual for this HP PC from the support and troubleshooting web site at:

http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c03635311.pdf

HP does not have information on third party products like Gateway or Apple iPad.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>