Looking for Answers about Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

With an E-Panel with FliterBright antiglare technology that delivers a 1024 x 768 resolution for supporting 720p high-definition images, this 42" plasma HDTV is ideal for bringing movies, games, TV shows and more to life. Have questions about this product? Ask fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Customer Questions & Answers:
72 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(117 Reviews)117

Questions & Answers for Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV

Question

how much is shipping a 42" tv to uk?

If I bought a 42" plasma, how much would it cost me to ship to uk incl custom charges etc
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
lesley
 from
UK
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

What is the difference?

I am looking to purchase a Samsung 42" Class Plasma TV. Model PN42B450B1D (SKU # 9235259) is $625and and Model PN42B450B1D (SKU # 9791253) is $540 ($600 without the sale). For the life of me . . . I can't figure out the difference.

Please help.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ethan
 from
Boston MA
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The first unit you asked about is the PN42B450 and is a 2009 model. The second model you stated is actually the C450 model, based off of the SKU number and is the 2010 unit. Since the "C" model is less expensive and newer then the "B" model, this likely means that the manufacturing process for plasmas has been stream lined. Because of this, the units can in fact cost less then the previous years models.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
SKU 9791253 is actually the new PN42C450 model rather than B450. The big difference is the number of inputs. Both have 3 HDMI, but the older B450 version has 2 component and one composite input. The C450 doesn't have either of those at all (according to specs on BB.com). The C450 has a USB port for thumb drive input, etc. that the B450 does not have. The C450 has a new filter design. It's also not as heavy as the B450. I have the B version and am very glad I have the composite and component inputs for my old DVD and Wii game system. I actually paid $540 for the B version as a price match from HHGregg, but I don't think HH carries it anymore for Best Buy to price match it.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

RED LINE ON BOTTOM OF TV

DOES THE RED LINE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE SAMSUNG LIGHT UP OR IS IT JUST PART OF THE DESIGN
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The red line at the bottom of the PN42B450 is just a design feature of the bezel and does not actually light up or glow.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do plasma tv's use more energy than lcd's? Is my power bill going to go up if I get a plasma?

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have both a 32" LCD HDTV (3 years old) and a brand new Samsung 42" plasma. I have measured the power usage with a Kill-A-Watt meter and found that the new plasma is equally as energy efficient as the older 32" LCD. Both tv's are calibrated for good picture in home theater settings. This means that brightness and contrast levels have been adjusted down (doing this also uses less electricity). The biggest difference is that the LCD consumes 20 watts in "standby" mode continuously; the plasma uses 0 watts in standby mode. Per the meter, both tvs use about $30 per year in electricity which is very efficient by any standard. When properly calibrated, the 42" Samsung plasma uses no more electricity than our 32" LCD. Clearly, plasma tvs have made great progress in energy efficiency. Also, you won't find any LCD in the sub $1000 price range that can match the color saturation and picture quality of a $600 plasma screen. Plasmas are simply superior technology in this regard.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sampan
 from
los angeles, ca
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Plasmas typically use more power than LCDs, but they have become much better in recent years with energy consumption with all sorts of energy savings methods or settings. It may be difficult to notice any difference on an electric bill. I own this Samsung 42" plasma TV and can't tell a difference in my electric bill at all after replacing a tube TV. Compared to my air conditioner or heater, the TV is energy use insignificant. And the picture on this TV is absolutely stunning!
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Brian
 from
Tampa, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

we have a cabin that we shut down in the winter time will this hurt the plasma if it gets to cold

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The Samsung Plasma TV's environmental considerations and operating temps are:

Operating Temperature: 50 °F to 104 °F (10 °C to 40 °C), Operating Humidity: 10% to 80%, non-condensing, Storage Temperature: -4 °F to 113 °F (-20 °C to 45 °C), Storage Humidity: 5% to 95%, non-condensing

-MrSamsung
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung PN42B450B1D. Attempted to connect Sanyo cd/radio/cassette player but receive message that device isn't connected. Want to use TV's speakers.

4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Thanks for the question. I would assume you are trying to connect the device to the TV via an RCA red/white connection to one of the TV's analogue audio inputs (the inputs are grouped with the video inputs as the AV IN group of connections). If that is the case, you will most likely see the "no device connected" message, but you should still be able to listen to your device.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This is not possible as you would need a video signal to turn on the selected input. your TV set isn't designed to play just audio it needs a video signal to accompany.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
360
 from
Lakewood NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

1080i or 720p Setting on Cable Box?

Which would be the best setting on the cable box (Verizon FiOS) for this TV? 1080i or 720p? Or does it make any difference at all?
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My set top is set to auto that way it will adjust according to output. If you select the higher setting anything 720p will still play just fine.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
360
 from
Lakewood NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Since the TV is 720p, I would recommend that setting on the cable box as well.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RyanBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Whats the difference between the PN42B450B1D and PN42B430

4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Thanks for the question! As a matter of fact, there are several differences between the B450 and the B430. The following features are only available on the B450: FilterBright (Filterbright panel offers enhanced anti-glare properties), PC connection (allows for the TV to be connected to a PC to be used as a monitor), and one extra HDMI and Composite input along the side of the unit.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any motion blur? How bad is the glare?

I purchased a 60hz LCD thinking I would be able to handle the motion blur. I just can't. Even my relative's Sony XBR9 240hz LCD has too much blur for my taste. Will this plasma (or any plasma for that matter) eliminate motion blur? I'm used to my CRT would love it if the motion was comparable.

The biggest reason I originally selected an LCD was because my living room is very bright with windows directly behind the TV and windows to the side where sunlight pours onto the TV in the winter. It's been a bit of a nuisance on my old CRT. How bad is it with this TV with the anti-glare? Is the TV bright enough during the day to minimize it. I think the blur is probably a bigger deal breaker than the glare after getting a headache watching hockey, football and basketball today.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Brian
 from
Tampa
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Then you want to go with Plasma. Plasmas have a 600hz sub field. I have this 42' inch in my bedroom with 3 Windows. One behind it and two long side of it. No fading and no motion blur. Remember you can calibrate a TV set to the rooms ambient light for best picture. I have not calibrated this set and do not plan to. The presets for this TV are just fine. As long as you don't have a window directly opposite of it you should not have a major glare problem. No motion blur either!
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
360
 from
Lakewood NJ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Okay, so I'm answering my own question above because I decided to go ahead and buy this TV. Motion blur is eliminated with this TV. The only blur is from the source itself, so it rivals (or possibly outperforms) tube TVs of the past. Yes, the glare is a bit of an issue, but I think it's well worth it compared to the motion problems with LCDs. I have windows directly behind where I sit and I can see glare, but it's not as bad as my CRT TV was. The AR filter isn't all that great, but it does help some. It's certainly more glare than with most LCDs. Closing the blinds helps and it isn't a very big deal then. I don't think a bright room is really an issue as long as the window isn't directly in the reflection angle. However, if sun is shining directly on TV, it's difficult to see anything (similar to a CRT). Note that this plasma doesn't get quite as bright as others I've seen. But for the money...
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Brian
 from
Tampa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

PC Connection

Can you hook up a PC via HDMI?
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you can but it is all depending on your graphics card. If you have an HDMI port on your PC you can connect it. This unit comes with a PC input if your interested in using it as a monitor.
4 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
360
 from
Lakewood NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Great question! There are three ways to connect your PC to your PN42B450: monitor cable, HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to DVI.

Although all of these connections are easy to hook up, the PC monitor cable is the most common. To connect it this way, just use a standard PC monitor cable to connect from the monitor out of your PC to the PC input on the TV. Some adjustments to the PC's resolution is required.

If your PC offer HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC)

HDMI to DVI is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the PC (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>