Looking for Answers about Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter

Wirelessly connect your Samsung HDTV or Blu-ray Disc player to your wireless network using this wireless USB 2.0 adapter that supports streaming access to Internet@TV,InfoLink RSS and BD Live services.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions
 | 
632 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(271 Reviews)271

Questions & Answers for Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter

Question

Will it connect to the ATTUverse 3800HGV-B.

I have a Samsung LCD 52" Mod. 750. Will the LinkStick connect to the Attuverse 3800HGV-B gateway or do I need a wireless router connected to the gateway.
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dennis
 from
Fresno, Ca
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The LinkStick is for a BD player. As far as I know, that's the only device it will work with. TV model is not relevant for this device. You don't need a router to make the BD player wireless unless you hook up your player with a wired connection via a network cable.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is designed to connect directly to a WiFi router that has an internet connection attached to it. That said, if the Attuverse 3800HGV-B is a wifi router as well, then the Linkstick should connect to it for internet access. If it is only a gateway for internet and TV signal broadcasting, and does not offer a wifi router built in, then you will need a second wifi router connected to your internet modem for internet content access on your TV.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I browse the internet with this?

4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope. All it does is make your BD player wireless so you can use whatever service it supports. Mine supports Blockbuster, Netflix and Pandora. And that's all it does.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Currently, none of the Samsung devices support true internet browsing. Once connected, the Samsung Linkstick will allow you to access internet content via either the already preloaded Yahoo! widget system or RSS feeds through Infolink on the Samsung TVs; or directly through Netflix and Pandora on the Samsung BD players only.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Key-protected router

Normally my router (2-Wire) require a code (password) in order to connect wirelessly - will it work with it ?
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
During the set up process when the device recognizes your wifi router it will ask for the password so it should not be a problem to get it working. The set up screen will allow you to input the password with your remote.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bskarnes
 from
Detroit Lakes, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Through the device you are connecting the Linkstick to, you will be able to access a password protected router by imputing that router's password into the device once you run the network connection setup.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this adapter work with

Samsung - 46" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV
Model: LN46C630K1F

Assuming it does, what exactly does it help me do additionally on TV that I would not be able to do otherwise.

What exactly does it buy for me.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
All the LinkStick does is make your BD player wireless so that you can use services such as NetFlix or Pandora. The type of TV you have does not affect its performance.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, you must use the “Samsung Wireless LAN Adapter” (WIS09ABGN) with the LN46C630 in order to use a wireless network. Since the Linkstick does not add features to a TV that does not already have internet or DLNA features, it will only facilitate a WiFi internet connection (from your wifi home router) to allow the TV to access its internet/DLNA content. That said, the C630, although not having Internet@TV or other internet functionality, does offer AllShare. AllShare is DLNA, which allows you to share music, photos and even movies from your PC or other DLNA certified devices, with your TV.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Compatability with Uverse system?

I have Uverse and get wifi on my iphone from in the home, but I do not see a USB port on the Uverse router. I have recently purchased a samsung BD-P1590.The manual says it can connect wirelessly to the internet. I am considering buying the WIS09ABGN. Will I connect that directly to the USB on BD or should it connect to my router?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rick
 from
Clovis, CA
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If your question refers to the Samsung Blu-Ray wireless adapter Link Stick, it plugs into the USB port on your BD player. It will only work with Samsung BD players from 2009-2010 according to the packaging, but I suppose that's because they started integrating a USB port on their BD player about that time.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is designed to only interface with other Samsung products that offer internet content on on-board. That said, the Linkstick is not to be used with other manufacturer's devices (such as the uverse set top boxes), since all it does is facilitate a wireless internet (wifi) connection to the Samsung internet capable devices that don't already have built in wifi (some of the 2010 Blu-Ray players offer built in wifi). What will be needed is a Wireless router that is connected to your internet modem. This will allow your Samsung devices to aggregate internet content. If your Uverse router does in fact offer WiFi, then most likely the Samsung internet enabled devices will be able to connect to the internet through the Linkstick.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this device work with the BD-P1660 and the B6000 series LED?

I have a B6000 series Samsung LED HDTV and a Samsung Blu-ray BD-P1600. Will this device work plugged directly into the Blu-ray to stream Netflix movies?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not sure about the TV but I bought this item to use with my BD1600 Blue Ray player and it works great with my Netgear N router.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bskarnes
 from
Detroit Lakes, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely! On the B6000, it will give you access to InfoLink and on your P1600 it will give you access to Netflix. However, you will need two separate Linksticks in order to connect both your devices up and to access all content available.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work on model # BDP1500?

4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I have the same model player. I plugged the linkstick into the "back" of my player, used the on-screen menu to connect to the router and it works excellent!
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
falcon007
 from
Dallas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WIS09ABGNX will only be compatible with the P1590 and higher models that offer internet content connectivity. The P1500 is not compatible.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would this link stick allow me to stream content wireless from my pc to a DLNA capable tv (Samsung LN32C550) even tho the tv does not have Internet@tv

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes--you are not accessing the internet--just sending from the computer to the TV provided you have a router and home network.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely! As long as the Samsung TV offers AllShare or ConnectShare Movie, the Linkstick will be able to facilitate a wifi connection from your home router for media sharing.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use it for a desktop to connect to the internet?

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think so. The Samsung LinkStick is primarily used if you have a Samsung Blu-Ray Disc player.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mack2468
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is only used with the Samsung devices that offer Internet Connectivity. Unfortunately, we can not guarantee that it will work with a PC for internet connectivity since there are no PC drivers available.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Encrypted Wireless Network

Is this device compatible with WPA-2 Personal encryption? These days running an unsecured network is asking for trouble.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chris
 from
Tonasket, WA
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it is. I have it running on a WPA-2 PSK and it runs flawlessly. Also tried it on AES, which also worked fine.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dialect
 from
Morrisville, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Linkstick does not actually have the ability to input a password or other settings on it. That said, all the settings needed to connect to a network are built into your Samsung DLNA/Internet ready device (TV, BD player, Home Theater System). These devices are compatible with the following security protocols: 1) Authentication Mode : OPEN, SHARED, WPAPSK, WPA2PSK
2) Encryption Type : WEP, TKIP, AES

-MrSamsung
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 57 next>>