Looking for Answers about Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter

Wirelessly connect your Samsung HDTV or Blu-ray Disc player to your wireless network using this wireless USB 2.0 adapter that supports streaming access to Internet@TV,InfoLink RSS and BD Live services.
Customer Questions & Answers:
568 Questions
 | 
632 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.055 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(271 Reviews)271

Questions & Answers for Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter

Question

Compatability with Uverse system?

I have Uverse and get wifi on my iphone from in the home, but I do not see a USB port on the Uverse router. I have recently purchased a samsung BD-P1590.The manual says it can connect wirelessly to the internet. I am considering buying the WIS09ABGN. Will I connect that directly to the USB on BD or should it connect to my router?
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rick
 from
Clovis, CA
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If your question refers to the Samsung Blu-Ray wireless adapter Link Stick, it plugs into the USB port on your BD player. It will only work with Samsung BD players from 2009-2010 according to the packaging, but I suppose that's because they started integrating a USB port on their BD player about that time.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is designed to only interface with other Samsung products that offer internet content on on-board. That said, the Linkstick is not to be used with other manufacturer's devices (such as the uverse set top boxes), since all it does is facilitate a wireless internet (wifi) connection to the Samsung internet capable devices that don't already have built in wifi (some of the 2010 Blu-Ray players offer built in wifi). What will be needed is a Wireless router that is connected to your internet modem. This will allow your Samsung devices to aggregate internet content. If your Uverse router does in fact offer WiFi, then most likely the Samsung internet enabled devices will be able to connect to the internet through the Linkstick.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it work with the PB58B550T2

I have tried to hook this up to this TV with no luck
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Randy
 from
Spokane Wa
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
BestBuy.com thinks your question has to do with a Samsung Blu-Ray player wireless adapter. Is that what you're having trouble setting up or are you setting up a device to make your TV wireless?
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Since the B550 does not offer any DLNA or Internet connectivity features, the Samsung Linkstick will not be compatible.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work on model # BDP1500?

5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I have the same model player. I plugged the linkstick into the "back" of my player, used the on-screen menu to connect to the router and it works excellent!
5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
falcon007
 from
Dallas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WIS09ABGNX will only be compatible with the P1590 and higher models that offer internet content connectivity. The P1500 is not compatible.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Encrypted Wireless Network

Is this device compatible with WPA-2 Personal encryption? These days running an unsecured network is asking for trouble.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chris
 from
Tonasket, WA
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it is. I have it running on a WPA-2 PSK and it runs flawlessly. Also tried it on AES, which also worked fine.
5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dialect
 from
Morrisville, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Linkstick does not actually have the ability to input a password or other settings on it. That said, all the settings needed to connect to a network are built into your Samsung DLNA/Internet ready device (TV, BD player, Home Theater System). These devices are compatible with the following security protocols: 1) Authentication Mode : OPEN, SHARED, WPAPSK, WPA2PSK
2) Encryption Type : WEP, TKIP, AES

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Would this link stick allow me to stream content wireless from my pc to a DLNA capable tv (Samsung LN32C550) even tho the tv does not have Internet@tv

5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes--you are not accessing the internet--just sending from the computer to the TV provided you have a router and home network.
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely! As long as the Samsung TV offers AllShare or ConnectShare Movie, the Linkstick will be able to facilitate a wifi connection from your home router for media sharing.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will this usb work on other brands of tv

5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
TV brand doesn't matter. The brand and model of BD player you have does. All it does is make your BD player wireless. Not the TV.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is only designed to work with the Samsung products (TVs, BD players, HTIBs). The Linkstick will not work with other 3rd party devices.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will it connect to the ATTUverse 3800HGV-B.

I have a Samsung LCD 52" Mod. 750. Will the LinkStick connect to the Attuverse 3800HGV-B gateway or do I need a wireless router connected to the gateway.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dennis
 from
Fresno, Ca
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The LinkStick is for a BD player. As far as I know, that's the only device it will work with. TV model is not relevant for this device. You don't need a router to make the BD player wireless unless you hook up your player with a wired connection via a network cable.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Aimee10
 from
Arizona
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is designed to connect directly to a WiFi router that has an internet connection attached to it. That said, if the Attuverse 3800HGV-B is a wifi router as well, then the Linkstick should connect to it for internet access. If it is only a gateway for internet and TV signal broadcasting, and does not offer a wifi router built in, then you will need a second wifi router connected to your internet modem for internet content access on your TV.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Key-protected router

Normally my router (2-Wire) require a code (password) in order to connect wirelessly - will it work with it ?
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
During the set up process when the device recognizes your wifi router it will ask for the password so it should not be a problem to get it working. The set up screen will allow you to input the password with your remote.
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bskarnes
 from
Detroit Lakes, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Through the device you are connecting the Linkstick to, you will be able to access a password protected router by imputing that router's password into the device once you run the network connection setup.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use it for a desktop to connect to the internet?

5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think so. The Samsung LinkStick is primarily used if you have a Samsung Blu-Ray Disc player.
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mack2468
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Linkstick is only used with the Samsung devices that offer Internet Connectivity. Unfortunately, we can not guarantee that it will work with a PC for internet connectivity since there are no PC drivers available.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to connect this and the compatibility

read an earlier question that was posted and i just want to know if i can get netflix, pandora and youtube on the tv. I have a vizio eco hdtv, the samsung 2.0 adapter and a samsung blueray bd-p1600. when i try to connect it it keeps asking for my mac address 00:00:00:00:00:00 not sure why this would be a question. also says cant find proxy.. please help
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rachel
 from
lakewood
on Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
First, you would need to have wireless capabilities in your home. You would need to get a wireless router and hook up either to a laptop or desktop. Make sure you jot down the SSID number and the password because you will need those items in order for you to have the Samsung 2.0 Linkstick to work.

If you have a wireless router in your home, all you have to do is to first turn on your Blu-ray player. Next, take the Samsung Linkstick wireless adapter and plug it into the back of the blu-ray player. Within a few seconds, the blu-ray player will ask you if you want to use the player wirelessly, the answer is yes.

Next, the TV screen will show you parts of the SSID address from your wireless router.

You are almost there, the last thing to do is to input your password. Once, you do that, it will be smooth sailing.

The next thing to do is to go back to the main screen of the blu-ray player. Let's say for example you want to access Netflix, click on the Netflix tab from the blu-ray player and Netflix is going to ask you to input a code which you will need to do from your computer. Just access the activation area of Netflix, access the code and watch the blu-ray player do its thing. The same thing applies to all other programs from the blu-ray player. Good luck.
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mack2468
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you connect your Linkstick to the Samsung BD player P-1600, you should have access to Netflix and Pandora once the internet connection is made. Unfortunately, with the information you have provided I do not have a solution for you. I will say that if you contact service at 800-SAMSUNG or contact your local Best Buy's Geek Squad, they should be able to provide you with a live solution.

-MrSamsung
5 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 57 next>>