Looking for Answers about HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver

HP ENVY TouchSmart m7-j010dx Laptop: With a large, bright high-resolution screen, impressive processing power and all the perks of a touch screen, this HP ENVY TouchSmart laptop is a great tool for graphics-focused gaming, Internet browsing or watching HD videos. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions
 | 
59 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.352 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(295 Reviews)295

Questions & Answers for HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver

Question

can I get this computer with windows 7? I do not like windows 8

envy touchsmart 17.3 8gbmemory 1tb drive
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have not seen this specific model with Windows 7. It would be no problem to purchase a Windows 7 license and install the operating system if you have a little experience with Windows OS installation.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrwebguy
 from
FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC is warranted as configured. This HP PC has Microsoft Windows 8 operating system. I recommend contacting Microsoft for any downgrade possibilities.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you add a second harddrive

I am in the process of looking for a new laptop. I have a pavilion and needing to upgrade my system to a newer model. The specs only show 1TB drive and on my old laptop, I have 2 500GB drives in it now.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lex Luthor
 from
Cape Girardeau
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you can, but you need to but the SATA cable and cradle separately. I did not find it on the HP website, but there is a generic one. Easy to find if your search Yahoo/Google. It seems like only one company makes one.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
eagle2001
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC does have room for a second hard drive.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a backlit keyboard?

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. You can turn the backlighting on and off with the F5 key.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
OBQuistor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yes this model does have a nicely lit keyboard
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
killerHP
 from
Rochester.New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This HP PC has a Full-size island-style backlit keyboard with numeric keypad.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my wi-fi ont this laptop somehow got turned off, how do I turn it back on?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is a key with the Wi-Fi logo on it on top of the keyboard. Try that.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
eagle2001
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hitting the F12 key will turn on the Antenna.

You can also click on the WiFi logo near the time in the bottom right corner (in Desktop app) and make sure AIRPLANE MODE is turned OFF and WIFI is ON.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrwebguy
 from
FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I swap out the DVD/CD drive for a blu-ray Drive?

I was curious if I could change the DVD/CD drive to a Blu-ray player drive
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wheelchairboy88
 from
Amsterdam,ny
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
You should be able to as long as you find a compatible one. When I was researching the product before my purchase, HP.com had an optional Blu-ray drive in the configuration.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
eagle2001
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How well would this laptop run Minecraft and/or Tekkit?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Bossier city
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It has more than enough power to do this.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
eagle2001
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC will play any games that have system requirements equal to or less than the specifications of this PC. I recommend contacting the software manufacturer of any games you intend to use in order to determine the system requirements for their software.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is it possible to update the graphics card?

11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, you would have to replace the motherboard. Otherwise you would have to custom configure the laptop on HP's site.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
eagle2001
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The video card is integrated. While it may be possible by changing the system board, you will save yourself a lot of money and potential headache by purchasing a different model.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrwebguy
 from
FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is correct HP support page ?

The specs at HP don't match the specs listed on bestbuy for the given model.
Specifically the screen resolution.
Is it possible that the model as listed here is incorrect?
M7-j010dx
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry the screen size was 17.3". They both were the HP-Envy TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptops- 8GB Memory-1TB Hard Drive- Modern Silver. Model #M7-j010dx. SKU: 9349042
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kataboo
 from
Rochester NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

External monitor

can I hook up an extra monitor.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
alaska mike
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can hook up an external monitor via HDMI but there is no VGA connections
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dtabor
 from
Houma, LA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC comes standard with an HDMI port which should support a monitor connection.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the best buy site say it has a 1080p resolution when HP site says it has 900p resolution?

what is the actual resolution for this model?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
antbat
 from
Houston
on HP - ENVY TouchSmart 17.3" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Modern Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think the difference is the touch screen has a higher resolution and the one without a touch had a lower resolution
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Autocaduser
 from
NOLA
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
1080P.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>