Looking for Answers about Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black

Store your favorite music, videos and photos with this black Walkman 8GB* MP3 player that features alarm and sleep timers, built-in stereo speakers and a rechargeable, lithium-ion battery that lasts for up to 42 hours of music playback.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions
 | 
69 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(65 Reviews)65

Questions & Answers for Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black

Question

Clarification, please, on playing the MP3 player audio through car stereo

Regarding the earlier question about playing audio through the car stereo, I'd like further details, please. I don't understand the answer "As for Aux connection, you would need to obtain an Aux to USB Adapter."

1. The way I'm reading the earlier question, they're asking how to hear the music, not how to power the player in the car. Wouldn't an "aux to USB adapter" be used to provide power? To play music via the car's aux-in port, wouldn't you need a 3.5mm male-to-male connector?

2. I know it won't play music while charging via usb to a computer, but can it play music while being charged in the car?

In other words, assuming the car has a 3.5mm aux-in port, can you listen to music in the car via a 3.5mm male-to-male headphone cable while the player is charging via an aux to usb (cigarette lighter) adapter?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Melissa
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You're correct. The USB adapter in the car will just charge the Walkman. The 3.5mm male/male cable is what is needed to play sound through the car radio, if the radio has an aux port to plug the cable into. If not you can purchase a transmit unit that you connect the Walkman to, which then will transmit to the car radio on an unused FM channel.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CEMJR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
without information on your specific Car Stereo Head unit it is difficult to answer your question. unfortunately we cannot provide any information on your car stereo and what devices it will support. Most car stereos have an aux stereo mini plug, this would connect to the headphones jack, allowing you to pass audio through the head unit to the car speakers but it will not control the Walkman in any way. you still would need to press play on the Walkman itself. Only a Head unit with a USB jack that is specificity stated it can control the Walkman will give functionality.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have about 200 cds&want to load all the entire cd for all of them, plus I keep getting more cds.Will the 4gb mp3 work for me or should I get the 8gb

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
With 200 cds you are going to want the 8GB. You are talking at least 3000 songs at 5000Kb per song avg. Prolly won't even fit all of them on there either.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dyin2Play
 from
Paw Paw, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Memory Capacity of the NWZ-S544 8GB Walkman® is Approx. 7.1 GB / if you choose the 4GB model your storage capacity is Approx. 3.35 GB
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Charging cable?

I have lost my charging cable and cant remember what ive done with it and ive torn apart my room and inside of my car and still cant seem to find it. Where can i buy a replacement without calling sony directly???
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Check your local Best Buy or just do a search on the internet looking for that mp3 player's cable.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CEMJR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
the official name of the part lost is the"30V PC CONNECTION CORD" should you need to contact Sony for a new cable.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it PC ITunes compatible?

I own a PC, but use ITunes on it as my mp3 application. Can I use the Walkman in conjunction with ITunes on my PC?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Train
 from
Oregon
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hello train, Yes the NWZS544 plays nicely with iTunes, Napster and Rhapsody. Use the Included Content transfer program to transfer from iTunes.

Loading up your new Walkman® player with music and videos is easy. Just drag and drop files from iTunes®, Windows® Media Player, Internet Explorer or other apps with non-DRM (digital rights management) files and enjoy. With a Walkman player, you are never tied to just one music service.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you just have to probably find where the files are saved so you can transfer them to your walkman
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dyin2Play
 from
Paw Paw, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you listen to it without headphones?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Babyfacepacman
 from
Bronx, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can switch the output between the headphones and the built-in speakers.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

difference between 8gb and 16gb

how many songs & movies does a 8gb mp3 player holds.how many songs & movies does a 16gb mp3 player holds.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
i had a 4gb and it held 650 songs... i have 450 songs on my 8gb and only about 25% of the space is being used.. i guess it can hold 1800 songs give or take depending on the length..
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Bella615
 from
NYC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
An 8 GB player gives Approx. 7.1 GB avail for storage and a 16GB player gives Approx. 14.4 GB avail for storage.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the alarm?

I got this for Valentine's Day and I saw that it said alarm but i couldn't find it. It is definatly worth the money.l.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
i believe the alarm is where the clock option is....
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Bella615
 from
NYC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can set the timer to play back songs at a specified time as an alarm.
1. From the [Home] menu, select [Music] and select a desired song.
2. Press the OPTION/PWR OFF button.
(The option menu appears.)
3. Select [Alarm].
4. Press the </ > button to select the hour, and then press the ^/ v button to change the value.
5. As in step 4 , adjust the minute setting.
6. Press the [Play/Pause] button to confirm.
(The player automatically stops playback of the songs, and the player is
automatically turned off.
At the set time, the player automatically plays back the song last played.)
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a microphone/input jack?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Sadly, the "Sony Walkman 8GB" does not count with audio input software/hardware, however, the Philips GoGear Vibe 8GB does count with Audio Recording. I hope this helped!
 
Products from my answer
Philips GoGear Vibe 8GB* MP3 Player - Aluminum
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately the Walkman® player does not have a microphone nor Input for an external mic
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it Mac compatible?

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tony
 from
Louisville
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello Tony, The Walkman player and the included software are designed and sold to be used with a computer that can run the Windows® operating system only. Sony does not support the use of the Walkman player with an Apple Macintosh computer. However, if your Apple Macintosh computer can run the Windows operating system, you should be able to use the portable player and the included software on that computer in the Windows environment.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is playsforsure compatibilities?

What are playsforsure compatibility?
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony Walkman 8GB* MP3 Player - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Plays For Sure was a program launched by Microsoft in 2004 to help consumers select digital-media players that would work with Specific DRM, Codecs and Windows Media Player. It is no longer produced by Microsoft, However Music and Videos with Plays for sure certification will play on the NWZ-S544
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>