Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Update your movie library with this DVD recorder that features one-touch recording for easy operation and bidirectional dubbing that lets you transfer VHS to DVD and DVD to VHS.
Customer Questions & Answers:
97 Questions
 | 
175 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Question

can i edit the vhs tape while recording it onto dvd

1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dolphin
 from
Pittsburgh
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, you can adjust record speed and fine tune tracking I thing but you would actually need a video enhancer to really adjust the record quality
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This Toshiba recorder playback formats includes VHS.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Trish
 from
Humble
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No, you cannot edit the VHS tape while transferring it to a DVD.

-Mimi
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Mimi
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I haven't had much luck with it, I returned it after It stopped working 3 weeks after I bought it.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Chiefland
 from
indianapolis, in
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

We have a digital converter box attached to our TV. Will the converter box enable this model to work without a tuner?

We do not have cable television and our television does not have a digital tuner.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BWK
 from
New Jersey
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, attach the converter box to the recorder then the recorder to the TV. You may need to purchase something to make it possible to attach the recorder if your TV has only a coaxial hook up.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can go straight from your digital box to the recorder using rca jacks (red, white, yellow). Some digital boxes only have one audio (red/white). In those cases you can use a rca splitter. It will have one input and two out.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There are many types of converter boxes on the market, so I don't have enough information to answer your question.

If a) your converter box has a Video or S-Video output and, b) you tune your TV channels using the converter, it should work by connecting from the converter to the recorder.

If you're not certain about the above, please re-post your question with details about the connections on your TV and converter.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Toshiba DVR620 record to TDK DVR-R discs?

I get a recording error E 15 when I try to record from dvr to DVD, using a TDK DVR-R disc. Why won't it record? Which discs/formats work best with this model?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JD
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you check the rating you set for your device, ex: R, PGG 13. What you are trying to record may not be an acceptable rating.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Unless you found you could record with another brand but not TDK, my guess is that the DVR recording has the protection filters programmed into it just as many DVD's and Bluerays do to prevent us all from recording copyrighted material. I found that even documentaries from Nat Geo and Sci channel on my DVR couldn't be put on DVD for use in my classroom, regardless of brand of DVD-R used. The new DVD recorders have a blocker in there to keep the film industry happier.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RGArenfeldt
 from
Citrus Heights, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can I transfer camcorder 8 cassetts to dvd with this unit

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hill
 from
NY
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think you would need a converter so the cassette will fit into the VCR, but I don't see why not. I haven't actually tried to do this, so I don't know for sure.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this is for VHS to DVD or vice versa.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

I just have basic cable, will i be able to record on the vcr? I'm having trouble viewing and recording.

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
lori
 from
LAREDO
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I do not see why not. That is the way it was done before DVRs.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model does not have a tuner, so it must be attached to a cable or satellite box to record TV programming. The channel selection is made on the cable or satellite box.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it transfer EP recorded VHS tapes?

I have a lot of vhs tapes that was recorded on EP (speed). Does the unit transfer the vhs to the dvd?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
PADIYGuy
 from
Boyertown PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does dub VHS content to DVD. I haven't used it to do that, however.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder only plays/records VHS tapes at SP or SLP speeds.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

After I record from VHS to DVD can I watch the DVD?

After recording the VHS to DVD can I still watch the VHS?
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Gahr
 from
PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, you can watch the DVD after you have recorded it from VHS.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The product specs on BestBuy.com state that this DVD recorder can play DVD-R/-RW/+R/+RW, VHS, CD-R/-RW, CD-DA, VCD, and SVCD. You should have no problem playing the DVD or VHS.

Thank you!
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
DerekBBY
 from
RIchfield, MN
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I change VHS to a disc?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
You can convert a copy of a VHS film to a DVD copy.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What is a tuner?

Just what is a tuner?? I have basic cable but do not have a cable box--my cable cord goes directly to my TV. Will this unit work for me?
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
A tuner selects a channel from the antenna or cable. TV's have a built-in tuner for off-air broadcasts or you can connect the output of the cable box (a tuner plus descrambler) directly to the TV. In the olden days, people would record TV shows off the air and the VCR would have a tuner built in that would tune to a particular channel at a given time to record a show. Modern VCRs lack a tuner because a TV show is seldom recorded on a VCR which lacks the capability to record in HD or even DVD quality.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
peterWashHeights
 from
New York, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Tuner is used to tune in to cable channels when in TV mode and not video mode. It will work in video mode but it will only display whatever air channels you already receive through the cable. You may need to add a basic or digital antenna to pick up any air signals and I believe those are all broadcast digital now. But the recorder will show dvds and vcr tapes
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
A turner allows the user to watch TV stations
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vulcan225
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This unit does not have a tuner. If you don't have a cable box you won't be able to select the channel that you want to record.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
k1cker
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, this device well work with your TV. If your cable comes directly out of the wall and you can't unplug it from a cable box, then you can connect the TOSHIBA decide to your TV, either using the cables that come with the Toshiba device, or you can buy a HDMI cable. In either case you plug one end of the cable into the Toshiba device and the other into your TV.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I am not sure but go to your local Best Buy..The geek squad or one of the associates should be able assist you with that.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Deafphotographer
 from
Rockford, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a built in tuner?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, and I was told by a local retailer that external tuners are no longer being manufactured.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Dssails
 from
Southern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No it does not have a built in tuner.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No it doesn't
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DocChas
 from
Tuscaloosa, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, it internally tunes in to signal automatically but the unit also has tracking buttons that allow for manual adjustment as well.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>