Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Update your movie library with this DVD recorder that features one-touch recording for easy operation and bidirectional dubbing that lets you transfer VHS to DVD and DVD to VHS.
Customer Questions & Answers:
153 Questions
 | 
264 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Question

Can I change VHS to a disc?

11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
You can convert a copy of a VHS film to a DVD copy.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I record a different station than I am currently watching?

This purchase has been a nightmare thus far. I'm trying to install at my parents who don't have cable. They needed a converter which we also installed. Now that we are trying to record it does not allow you to choose a station to record. Looks like from the manual you can only tape the channel you are currently watching which makes absolutely no sense to me.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
U need a DVR that has Two tuners like TiVo in order to do that.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Be sure that the Video cables, from the Converter Box, are going to the DVR (IN) and the (Out) going to the TV.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Sorry you need to purchase a "regular" VHS recorder or DVD recorder that is "programmable" to a date, time and channel (old school). This unit is NOT programmable and only allows to "record" what you are watching.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Lance1950
 from
Cupertino, CA
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

After I record from VHS to DVD can I watch the DVD?

After recording the VHS to DVD can I still watch the VHS?
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gahr
 from
PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you can still ea ch the VHS tapes if you want to.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sunny
 from
Stillwater
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can watch the DVD after you have recorded it from VHS.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The product specs on BestBuy.com state that this DVD recorder can play DVD-R/-RW/+R/+RW, VHS, CD-R/-RW, CD-DA, VCD, and SVCD. You should have no problem playing the DVD or VHS.

Thank you!
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DerekBBY
 from
RIchfield, MN
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this unit have auto-tracking on vhs?

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If it doesn't it does use the channel up/down to track.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model has auto-tracking. as well as manual tracking controls.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I am trying to record a program on vcr but when programming it it doesn's ask me for a channel WHY?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lori
 from
laredo
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't know. Try checking with Toshiba product support; maybe they can help.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model does not have a tuner, so it must be attached to a cable or satellite box to record TV programming. The channel selection is made on the cable or satellite box.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it transfer EP recorded VHS tapes?

I have a lot of vhs tapes that was recorded on EP (speed). Does the unit transfer the vhs to the dvd?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PADIYGuy
 from
Boyertown PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does dub VHS content to DVD. I haven't used it to do that, however.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder only plays/records VHS tapes at SP or SLP speeds.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

how do you make multiple dvd copies of the same vhs

5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sally
 from
temecula
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Make a single DVD from the VHS tape, and then with the aid of a computer, copy more copies. PC and Mac both have software that
come with the purchase.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Regyeo
 from
Riverside
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You make your first copy on DVD then finalize disc. Rewind tape and repeat until you have the number of DVDs that you want.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sunny
 from
Stillwater
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does unit record TV, does it have its own tuner?

4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Gat
 from
Md
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does not have its own tuner.
I've only used it to copy tapes to DVDs. I have not tried recording from TV, so I can't answer that part of your question.
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ChicagoBestbuyer
 from
Chicago, IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model does not have a tuner and thus cannot be used to record television.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

We have a digital converter box attached to our TV. Will the converter box enable this model to work without a tuner?

We do not have cable television and our television does not have a digital tuner.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BWK
 from
New Jersey
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, attach the converter box to the recorder then the recorder to the TV. You may need to purchase something to make it possible to attach the recorder if your TV has only a coaxial hook up.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can go straight from your digital box to the recorder using rca jacks (red, white, yellow). Some digital boxes only have one audio (red/white). In those cases you can use a rca splitter. It will have one input and two out.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There are many types of converter boxes on the market, so I don't have enough information to answer your question.

If a) your converter box has a Video or S-Video output and, b) you tune your TV channels using the converter, it should work by connecting from the converter to the recorder.

If you're not certain about the above, please re-post your question with details about the connections on your TV and converter.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Toshiba DVR620 record to TDK DVR-R discs?

I get a recording error E 15 when I try to record from dvr to DVD, using a TDK DVR-R disc. Why won't it record? Which discs/formats work best with this model?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JD
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you check the rating you set for your device, ex: R, PGG 13. What you are trying to record may not be an acceptable rating.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Unless you found you could record with another brand but not TDK, my guess is that the DVR recording has the protection filters programmed into it just as many DVD's and Bluerays do to prevent us all from recording copyrighted material. I found that even documentaries from Nat Geo and Sci channel on my DVR couldn't be put on DVD for use in my classroom, regardless of brand of DVD-R used. The new DVD recorders have a blocker in there to keep the film industry happier.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RGArenfeldt
 from
Citrus Heights, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>