Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Update your movie library with this DVD recorder that features one-touch recording for easy operation and bidirectional dubbing that lets you transfer VHS to DVD and DVD to VHS.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions
 | 
159 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black

Question

Can I record a different station than I am currently watching?

This purchase has been a nightmare thus far. I'm trying to install at my parents who don't have cable. They needed a converter which we also installed. Now that we are trying to record it does not allow you to choose a station to record. Looks like from the manual you can only tape the channel you are currently watching which makes absolutely no sense to me.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
U need a DVR that has Two tuners like TiVo in order to do that.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Be sure that the Video cables, from the Converter Box, are going to the DVR (IN) and the (Out) going to the TV.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Sorry you need to purchase a "regular" VHS recorder or DVD recorder that is "programmable" to a date, time and channel (old school). This unit is NOT programmable and only allows to "record" what you are watching.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lance1950
 from
Cupertino, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Toshiba DVR620 record to TDK DVR-R discs?

I get a recording error E 15 when I try to record from dvr to DVD, using a TDK DVR-R disc. Why won't it record? Which discs/formats work best with this model?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JD
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you check the rating you set for your device, ex: R, PGG 13. What you are trying to record may not be an acceptable rating.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Unless you found you could record with another brand but not TDK, my guess is that the DVR recording has the protection filters programmed into it just as many DVD's and Bluerays do to prevent us all from recording copyrighted material. I found that even documentaries from Nat Geo and Sci channel on my DVR couldn't be put on DVD for use in my classroom, regardless of brand of DVD-R used. The new DVD recorders have a blocker in there to keep the film industry happier.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RGArenfeldt
 from
Citrus Heights, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I just have basic cable, will i be able to record on the vcr? I'm having trouble viewing and recording.

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lori
 from
LAREDO
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I do not see why not. That is the way it was done before DVRs.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This model does not have a tuner, so it must be attached to a cable or satellite box to record TV programming. The channel selection is made on the cable or satellite box.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it transfer EP recorded VHS tapes?

I have a lot of vhs tapes that was recorded on EP (speed). Does the unit transfer the vhs to the dvd?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PADIYGuy
 from
Boyertown PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does dub VHS content to DVD. I haven't used it to do that, however.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder only plays/records VHS tapes at SP or SLP speeds.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

can I transfer camcorder 8 cassetts to dvd with this unit

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hill
 from
NY
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think you would need a converter so the cassette will fit into the VCR, but I don't see why not. I haven't actually tried to do this, so I don't know for sure.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this is for VHS to DVD or vice versa.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I change VHS to a disc?

3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
You can convert a copy of a VHS film to a DVD copy.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a built in tuner?

1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, and I was told by a local retailer that external tuners are no longer being manufactured.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dssails
 from
Southern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No it does not have a built in tuner.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No it doesn't
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
DocChas
 from
Tuscaloosa, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, it internally tunes in to signal automatically but the unit also has tracking buttons that allow for manual adjustment as well.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

can i record on the dvd and watch a vhs tape at the same time

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
patty
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you record a VHS tape to a DVD (dubbing), you can watch the contents of the tape as it is being dubbed. But if you watch a VHS tape, you cannot record a different video stream that enters through the front or back panel connectors onto a DVD.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
peterWashHeights
 from
New York, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vulcan225
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, if you are recording to the dvd what you are watching on VHS, then yes.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Simply. Yes.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Larry
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No, not really. Only if its the program your recording but not 2 separate programs.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will it hook up to older tv

tv has just 1 hook up on the back . my vcr now has the cable hooked up to it then a cord from vcr to tv
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you want more than one device hooked up to your TV buy an A/B switch. It has 2 inputs for vcrs or other picture sources and 1 out to the TV. It needs to be easily accessible because to switch between sources there is a small lever you push choosing the input.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The DVR620 doesn't have RF (antenna) inputs or outputs, so you won't be able to connect it to your TV.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

From VHS Tape to DVD Recording

I have VHS tapes Pal & Secam Format I want to record those on DVD-will this device Record it on DVD in the same Pal Secam system.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jay
 from
Riyadh Saudi Arabia
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry I do not know.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ZiwEeg
 from
Nampa, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder will not play or record PAL or SECAM format.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>