Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion

Update your movie library with this DVD recorder that features one-touch recording for easy operation and bidirectional dubbing that lets you transfer VHS to DVD and DVD to VHS.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions
 | 
151 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.973 out of 5
4
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion

Question

Does it transfer EP recorded VHS tapes?

I have a lot of vhs tapes that was recorded on EP (speed). Does the unit transfer the vhs to the dvd?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PADIYGuy
 from
Boyertown PA
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does dub VHS content to DVD. I haven't used it to do that, however.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder only plays/records VHS tapes at SP or SLP speeds.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

can i edit the vhs tape while recording it onto dvd

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
dolphin
 from
Pittsburgh
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, you can adjust record speed and fine tune tracking I thing but you would actually need a video enhancer to really adjust the record quality
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This Toshiba recorder playback formats includes VHS.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Trish
 from
Humble
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No, you cannot edit the VHS tape while transferring it to a DVD.

-Mimi
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mimi
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I haven't had much luck with it, I returned it after It stopped working 3 weeks after I bought it.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chiefland
 from
indianapolis, in
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can i record on the dvd and watch a vhs tape at the same time

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
patty
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you record a VHS tape to a DVD (dubbing), you can watch the contents of the tape as it is being dubbed. But if you watch a VHS tape, you cannot record a different video stream that enters through the front or back panel connectors onto a DVD.
4 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
peterWashHeights
 from
New York, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vulcan225
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, if you are recording to the dvd what you are watching on VHS, then yes.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Simply. Yes.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Larry
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No, not really. Only if its the program your recording but not 2 separate programs.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

We have a digital converter box attached to our TV. Will the converter box enable this model to work without a tuner?

We do not have cable television and our television does not have a digital tuner.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BWK
 from
New Jersey
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, attach the converter box to the recorder then the recorder to the TV. You may need to purchase something to make it possible to attach the recorder if your TV has only a coaxial hook up.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can go straight from your digital box to the recorder using rca jacks (red, white, yellow). Some digital boxes only have one audio (red/white). In those cases you can use a rca splitter. It will have one input and two out.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There are many types of converter boxes on the market, so I don't have enough information to answer your question.

If a) your converter box has a Video or S-Video output and, b) you tune your TV channels using the converter, it should work by connecting from the converter to the recorder.

If you're not certain about the above, please re-post your question with details about the connections on your TV and converter.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Toshiba DVR620 record to TDK DVR-R discs?

I get a recording error E 15 when I try to record from dvr to DVD, using a TDK DVR-R disc. Why won't it record? Which discs/formats work best with this model?
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JD
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you check the rating you set for your device, ex: R, PGG 13. What you are trying to record may not be an acceptable rating.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nik7Nik
 from
Alexandria, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Unless you found you could record with another brand but not TDK, my guess is that the DVR recording has the protection filters programmed into it just as many DVD's and Bluerays do to prevent us all from recording copyrighted material. I found that even documentaries from Nat Geo and Sci channel on my DVR couldn't be put on DVD for use in my classroom, regardless of brand of DVD-R used. The new DVD recorders have a blocker in there to keep the film industry happier.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RGArenfeldt
 from
Citrus Heights, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will it hook up to older tv

tv has just 1 hook up on the back . my vcr now has the cable hooked up to it then a cord from vcr to tv
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you want more than one device hooked up to your TV buy an A/B switch. It has 2 inputs for vcrs or other picture sources and 1 out to the TV. It needs to be easily accessible because to switch between sources there is a small lever you push choosing the input.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The DVR620 doesn't have RF (antenna) inputs or outputs, so you won't be able to connect it to your TV.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

From VHS Tape to DVD Recording

I have VHS tapes Pal & Secam Format I want to record those on DVD-will this device Record it on DVD in the same Pal Secam system.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jay
 from
Riyadh Saudi Arabia
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry I do not know.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ZiwEeg
 from
Nampa, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This recorder will not play or record PAL or SECAM format.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this record from DirecTV

Will this record from DirecTV when TV is not turned on? Ex: when I'm sleeping.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Northwest
 from
OH
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should record the show to your DVR when you are away/sleeping. Then you can record from your DVR to DVD via the Toshiba machine at your leisure. We did this successfully for many shows. I did not see any feature that would allow you to set a timer or anything, so make sure you just record it to your DVR first.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ryochan
 from
SF Bay Area
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Whether or not the TV is turned on doesn't affect timer recording.

In order to record when you're not there, you'll set the timer for the time you want the recorder to begin and end recording and, most importantly, you must have your satellite box turned on and set to the channel you want to record.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can I transfer camcorder 8 cassetts to dvd with this unit

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hill
 from
NY
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think you would need a converter so the cassette will fit into the VCR, but I don't see why not. I haven't actually tried to do this, so I don't know for sure.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gr8reader
 from
gr8reader
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this is for VHS to DVD or vice versa.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have a built in tuner?

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Multiformat DVD-R/RW/+R/+RW Recorder/VCR Combo with HD Upconversion
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Satisfied
 from
Sacramento CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, and I was told by a local retailer that external tuners are no longer being manufactured.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dssails
 from
Southern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No it does not have a built in tuner.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Toooldtochange
 from
Baldwin Park, California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No it doesn't
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DocChas
 from
Tuscaloosa, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, it internally tunes in to signal automatically but the unit also has tracking buttons that allow for manual adjustment as well.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dralove
 from
atlanta, ga
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>