Looking for Answers about Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White

Store your frozen food in this 5.0 cu. ft. freezer that features 1 lift-out basket for easy access to often-used items. Adjustable temperature settings provide easy operation.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions
 | 
68 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.449 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(89 Reviews)89

Questions & Answers for Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White

Question

How offen do you defrost?

3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
:) I have the same freezer for almost 5years and I've never defrosted it;p (as I have no idea how) and I open it everyday (multiple times a day - as I have there breakfast waffles/popsicles/icecream/lunch&dinner items ect) But when I clean it once in a while "by hand" while organizing it-usually when my freezer supplies are running low I take them out and scrup the exces of the "buil up snow" with the cooking sppon or something like that:) and put the stuff back:)
Works for me:) Takes like 10min then wipe it.

It's a really good freezer I initially bought it for breast milk, now that my "baby" is 4.5years old (my freezer about the same age:)) serves me for back up food in my small kitchen. Very helpful as my refridgerator only has the tiny top freezer, which is now only my "veggie freezer".

Good luck:)
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Agnes1981
 from
Chicago IL
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Good question. The best answer is "it depends.” The biggest factor is going to be how often the freezer lid is opened, since frost results from introducing warm air into the box which then freezes. Larger chests tend to accumulate frost faster than smaller chests because of naturally occurring thermal loss over the larger surface areas. With that said, a small chest could require defrosting between six and 12 months. If it is used for ice cream and frequently-consumed food items, it may be closer to six months. If it used for storing bulk items and is opened less frequently, closer to 12 months.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a step inside?

Does this freezer have a step at the bottom that cuts into the footprint (this is usually to make room for the compressor)? If so, how big is that step?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Malcolm
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does indeed have a step. It is about 8 1/2" top to bottom, x 8 1/2" wide x @ 16-ish" front to back. The step is on the right side.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DN527
 from
Houston TX
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is no step inside this freezer.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

When you defrost, do you have to remove the contents? What is the defrosting process?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeneen
 from
San Diego
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Defrosting-is melting the ice-so yes you have to take the content out and secure it -otherwise it'll be wasted:(

But as I described in my other post-I have this freezer almost 5yrs and never defrosted it! I just take the content out and scrub the exces ice/snow with either wood spatula or knife(gently to not destroy the freezer) and toss it to the sink, wipe the freezer out and you have the freezercleaned:) I also use baking soda oxes (change it monthly and keep them in the freezer to have it not to stinky:))especially when u store some meat/fish in there:)

good luck
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Agnes1981
 from
Chicago IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Defrosting
It is important to defrost and clean freezer when ¼ to ½ inch of frost has accumulated.
Frost may tend to accumulate faster on upper part of the freezer due
to warm, moist air entering the freezer when the door is opened. Remove food
and leave the door open when defrosting the freezer.
If the frost is soft, remove it by using a plastic scraper. If the frost is glazed and
hard, fill deep pans with hot water and place them on the freezer bottom. Close
the freezer door. Frost should soften in about 15 minutes. Repeat this procedure
if necessary.
Cleaning the Inside
After defrosting, wash inside surfaces of the freezer with a solution of two
tablespoons of baking soda in one quart (1.136 liters) warm water. Rinse and
dry. Wring excess water out of the sponge or cloth when cleaning in the area of
the controls, or any electrical parts.
Wash the removable parts with the baking soda solution mentioned above, or
mild detergent and warm water. Rinse and dry. Never use metallic scouring
pads, brushes, abrasive cleaners, or alkaline solutions on any surface. Do not
wash removable parts in a dishwasher.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
 from
Charlotte, NC
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

The lid is sticking shut. Is this a defective unit or a common problem?

Only had this unit a couple of months.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I just got mine and can't speak from experience on this unit. However, experience with other freezers has shown that sometimes freezers will form a hard seal that is very hard to open if you try to open it too quickly after you just closed it. I used to know why but I forgot. At least it means you've got a good seal!
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DN527
 from
Houston Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This is not a common issue. We recommend that you call Frigidaire service at 1 (800) 374-4432 for further direction.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this freezer go flush against the wall, or does it need air space?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The manual that came with it states it needs 4 inches space on each side.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DN527
 from
Houston Tx
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The hinges stick out roughly 2" which will allow for enough air circulation.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the inner dimensions of this freezer?

What are the dimensions of the actual storage compartment?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Malcolm
 from
Santa Barbara
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
We apologize for the delay in response to your question. This model has 15 cu. ft of usable capacity with interior dimensions of: 28.75"H x 22.0"W x 16.5"D.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The interior dimensions are approximately 23 1/2" wide and 16-ish" front-to-back. It is approximately 26" from top-to-bottom, and it has a "step" that covers the motor that is about 8 1/2" x 8 1/2" x @ 16-ish").
These dimensions are approximate, as I used a fabric measuring tape and had a hard time keeping it straight!
I just bought this today and am reading the manual and comparing it to the actual product. Having read some answers that seem to be possibly meant for another freezer? I based my purchase decision on comments and reviews, so I wanted to provide my input for the next shoppers!
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DN527
 from
Houston TX
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the power consumption?

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The average power consumption for this is 242kwh/year.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
242 kWh per year. Approx. $30 a year.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yorkee
 from
GA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the drain defrost located?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The drain plug is located at the center front bottom.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Junebug60
 from
Port Charlotte, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The drain is located in the front, center of the unit near the bottom.

Thank You,

Frigidaire
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is old freezer disposal available with the delivery of the new unit?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. I would believe so. Once a delivery comes to your house the delivery guy would usually dispose of your old stuff in order to let you have your new unit but it's usually good to leave them with a tip just out of courtesy.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Trin
 from
Brooklyn
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
SInce this is a Best Buy delivery question, I woudl suggest calling your local store. They will be able to give you details if there is a haulaway, disposal program available.

Thank You,

Frigidaire
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this unit run above 32 degrees

I was looking to make my own kegerator, the size is perfect, I need to hold temperature around 36 degrees, Can I adjust the temp. control up to above 32 degees
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Brewer
 from
FLA
on Frigidaire - 5.0 Cu. Ft. Chest Freezer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There's a dial on the front so you can set the temp cooler/warmer, but there's no way to specify the exact temp. Will probably take a little experimenting.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, the temperature range for this product is -10 to 10 degrees.

Thank You,

Frigidaire
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FrigidaireAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>