Looking for Answers about Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router

This dual-band wireless-N router provides smooth, fast HD video streaming and wireless gaming performance. A built-in USB port and UPnP A/V media server let you share files on your network and stream content to UPnP-compatible game consoles and devices.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions
 | 
40 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(306 Reviews)306

Questions & Answers for Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router

Question

linksys E3000 router 802.11 standard

does linksys E3000 router use 802.11n draft or the final 802.11n. the writeup does not say.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Final Draft
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Krolm
 from
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It supports 802.11n Final.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The documentation that came with mine did not include the draft, which it should if using that as the basis for design. This might depend on the manufacture date.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BrawnMan
 from
Richland, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It's fast, period. I think you're splitting hairs a little. It gets up to 300Mbps, it's dual-band, and it holds it's own with it's competitors (netgear and d-link) in terms of wireless speed. It's one of the highest-end routers on the market right now. most routers sold will not specify because the only different is a firmware update.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drcbravado
 from
Raeford, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, absolutely.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MalibuBrad513
 from
Cincinnati
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
802.11n draft
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SandiSandiSandi
 from
alabama
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Compatability

I currently have a Linksys wireless B, 2.4 GHz, 802.11B router. Is the Linksys E3000 compatable with my current Windows XP operating system and if so, is there a significant performance upgrade from the wireless B.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Frank K
 from
Chalfont, PA
on Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes, and heck-yes
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drcbravado
 from
Raeford, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
According to CISCO the CISCO Connect configuration tool requires at a minimum WIndows XP SP3 and the Browser Tool requires IE 6 or higher. To take advantage of the performance improvements you will need a Wireless N adapter for your PC. Any improvement with the Internet will depend on what level of service you subscribe to.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
famine
 from
Pensacola, Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I replaced my old Linksys router only because it was 5 years old and getting slow - otherwise worked great.

The E3000 router is hooked direct to my 10 year old Pentium 3 (windows XP) with an Ethernet cable. The other windows machines( x 2) operate on Vista. The Mac is running OS, and the PS3 is whatever....

We doesn’t seem to have any compatibility issues. Mind you had to use on line chat to change some setting during set-up
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
JeffDe
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Much better, faster...easy to connect other devices... can view movies from netflix remote...faster by all means. I am using XP
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SandiSandiSandi
 from
alabama
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The E3000 will operate in all the wifi modes and is fully backwards compatable. It's not the OS that's going to limit you but your wifi nic. Check with your manufacturer and see what it will support and if a firmware upgrade will allow you faster connections.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
surefire69
 from
Lancaster, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Frank - It sounds like we have the same Router. I just installed my 2 days ago, with no problems. However, I'm using Windows Vista. So as far as the Windows system. I can't ansewer. Hope this helps.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
a0369
 from
Jacksonville, NC
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
I believe you need XP SP2 to run any current wireless router.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do you program for a guest?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
The unit comes with a second wireless network set-up with a separate password, so it is already configured the way you are wanting it to be.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BrawnMan
 from
Richland, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Use Cisco Connect Software that came with the router. On the home menu of the software you should see the guest account option to turn it on and off. In the advanced router settings you can edit the perameters.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
UCFKnight27
 from
Winter Garden, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It gives a guest password..they connect using your name of wireless connection ..exp RedRobin..then the guest password..its different from main passwork..it tells you that in ..the control page on the main computer
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SandiSandiSandi
 from
alabama
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The routers home-page has the guest password clearly displayed ---
Just enter the same password on the guest computer when connecting.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Fly1905
 from
Rockford, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The guest option is already in the main menu, and your device will recognize it along with the regular router name. It is very simple and convenient to set up once and forget it.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
nighteyes3771
 from
Middletown,NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Just go to the start column on the computer, and click the connect to tab. The guest mode is always unsecure. So they just log on.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Larsonsmom
 from
North of Boston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
It's already configuired for guest access. Go to the Cisco Connect program and select connect devices, guest network and it will give you the password to access the guest network.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
surefire69
 from
Lancaster, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
try this webpage:
http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&docid=c3e42afc03994df5bb6bc531b42e9201_21461.xml
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far will the e3000 go between computers and how many computer can be hooked to one

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have a 100 foot CAT6 cable between the router and my computer and it seems to work fine. There are four 10/100/1000 ports on the router plus the wireless port, but you can use the ports to connect to other 10/100/1000 switches, so I'm not limited to that. I'd say that you could probably connect a dozen devices without teribly affecting performance, depending on the other devices in your network.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BrawnMan
 from
Richland, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
third-party testers have seen up to 230-280feet wirelessly. The answer to your second question is trickier. there are four physical ethernet connections in the back, so without buying addition network switches to daisy-chain, the easy answer is four physical ethernet connections. wireless connections are up to 50 by default but could be set higher if advanced settings are accessed.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drcbravado
 from
Raeford, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Have the E3000 router in upstairs of a fairly large house with 3 computers
using it as well as X-box and wireless printer. Signal is absolutely great, with no drops, I use my laptop and wireless printer downstairs with no problems. This E3000 is absolutely the best wireless router I've had.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
transplant
 from
Woodstock, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I have 6 hooked up - 5 wireless. Different generations, and both windows machine a mac and a PS3. Hope that helps
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
JeffDe
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
it is going right now over..200ft and works great. i dont see a limit to how many you can connect. i have three compters, one blue ray, and a gaming system..
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SandiSandiSandi
 from
alabama
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The range is fantastic. My home is 4000 square feet and I have a desktop, an netbook and an itouch all in other locations, using it at full strength.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
nighteyes3771
 from
Middletown,NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
I have a ranch style home approx. 1500 sq. ft. a level. I have had no problem with signal in basement as well as main floor. I have 5 computers hooked up to it and printer all wireless connection. I have had no problems using it for all of this equipement.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
LornaD
 from
Paw Paw, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
I can go halfway down my block before losing signal. It easily covers a 2 story, 2500 sq ft house. I currently have 6 wifi devices connected and 4 ethernet devices and it handles these with no problems.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
surefire69
 from
Lancaster, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

CAN YOU USE THIS WITH A CABLE HOOKUP INSTEAD OF ETHERNET?

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Cisco Linksys - E3000 High-Performance Wireless-N Router
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
This is not a modem, just a router. You connect it to the output of whatever modem you have (cable, DSL, satellite, etc.) for distribution. Mine happens to connect to a DSL modem, but as long as it is an RJ45 plug, I don't think the router will know the difference.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BrawnMan
 from
Richland, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
what you see is what you get. If you have cable internet, you need to connect this router to a separate cable modem. If you want to physically connect any computers to it, you need an ethernet cable (google this if you don't know what they look like) and an ethernet connection on the computer. virtually all computers built within the last 10yrs have this.

If this doesn't answer your question, then maybe tell us more about what you mean by "cable hookup".
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drcbravado
 from
Raeford, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If you are referring to using coaxial cable instead of ethernet then no this router will not provide that. You must have a modem hooked to your cable and then run a ethernet patch cable to this router.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
UCFKnight27
 from
Winter Garden, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Unfortunately, no. You need to hook it up with an ethernet connection.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
shinzon
 from
Canoga Park, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This router can only be hooked up via ethernet. This is not a modem/router device. This is a router that plugs in behind the modem. It has an ethernet port for your modem to connect to and then 7 ports to connect other ethernet devices to it.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
kgriffin
 from
San Antonio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can use this even if your isp is cable. ( internet service provider) It will make it that much easier.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SquirrlyGirl
 from
Howell, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
yes, in addition to blazing fast wireless speed this router has 4 ethernet ports for direct connecting devices.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
IntenseDoug
 from
Boulder, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
No. This is a wireless router, not a modem.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
64Skylark
 from
Riverside, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
I have my Pentium 3 (10 years old) on a ethernet cable the other 5 devices (HP laptops, printers, mac laptop and PS3) are all wireless
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
JeffDe
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
No, this router does not have coax, only ethernet. You would use your cable modem for the connection to the cable internet, and run ethernet from your cable modem to the e3000 router.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Logart
 from
Galt, Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
You have to connect this wifi router to your cable modem via Ethernet. They have another model that has the built in cable modem but check with your cable provider to make sure it is supported.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
surefire69
 from
Lancaster, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1