Looking for Answers about Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub

Turn 1 USB connection into 4 with this USB 2.0 hub that features a speed of up to 480 Mbps for fast data transfer. The suction-cup design allows for flexible placement options.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions
 | 
40 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(97 Reviews)97

Questions & Answers for Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub

Question

CAN YOU TURN OFF THE LED LIGHTS?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
MIAMI
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Unfortunately No. The only way to do that is to unplug it. I know what you are thinking... WTF 20 dollars and you cant even turn off the light. I just wish it turned off when i put my computer to sleep.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bamballam25
 from
Valparaiso, IN
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It depends on how bad you want them off.

No, there is no software option or switch on the device to turn the lights off. I found them annoying enough to figure it out. I'm a senior electrical engineering student, so I know enough to be confident in my ability to do this, and to tell you how.

The case can be easily cracked open with a flat screwdriver (Remove power first, and discharge any static, etc.). When you open the case, on the backside of the circuit board, you'll see three LEDs (and not much else other than solder joints) labeled LED1-3. Turning the board over, you'll see the solder joints where the wires from the LEDs come through. One of the solder pads will be round and connected by a thermal relief to the ground plane, and the other is square, with a short trace leading to a resistor. By removing that resistor, you will disable the LED. The resistors are labeled R5, R7, and R10, and are small (0402), black components with white writing. Do not remove other resistors or components, as you may disable something you don't want to disable! I've uploaded an image pointing to these resistors to imugur, ID E5ju4.jpg, and attached it to this message. A touch with a soldering iron is the right way to do this, although I just cut them off with a pocket knife because I didn't plan to put them back on later.

Note: My capacitors didn't have pressure relief score marks. That's worrisome, as a defective USB device could cause these to explode violently. It would be small, as they're only 100uF 16V devices, but definitely remember to replace the cover after you're done.

Note: Assume that this voids your warranty.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
reemrevnivek
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 3
LED indicators cannot be turned off on this product.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JohnRF
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how does it stick to side of printer or computer

i see 1 picture it is stuck on the side of a printer or computer, is there a magnet or something to keep it there?or is it a sticky back. thanks u
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maymay
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Mine does not stick to anything. There is no magnet or sticky stuff.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SWolfe
 from
Winter Garden, Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It has a rubber suction cup to mount to the computer, printer or to the top of the laptop.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pmccomb
 from
jackson michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Someone mentioned a suction cup. I doubt it has a magnet. But for a suction cup to work your case or area will have to be smooth.

I plan to just take a piece of good quality velcro to hold it on as suction never seems to last as long as you would like.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lemons
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i power this with a USB phone charger

I figure i could just plug this thing into an outlet using my phone charger (mini usb)

will this work?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
United States
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Erm, no. It is already powered by the port from the computer or device that you have it attached to. Attaching another powered USB outlet to it would not do anything. The powered outlet actually draws over an one amp to powered the four port.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MagicVuedoo
 from
Wausau, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you plugged your phone charger to the mini USB port on this device, you will not be able to transfer any data, as that is the sole port to which 'data transfer' is used for, and its' intended design is to be connected to a pc.

On the other hand, if you're trying to 'recharge' multiple devices with the rocketfish USB hub as well as transfer data, you need to find an appropriate AC adapter.

*see the image I've uploaded for the proper power specifications
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ZaphodTheUltimateGeek
 from
Seattle, Washington
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Rocketfish USB hub can't recognize external hard drives

Why can't the Rocketfish USB Hub recognize any type of external hard drive? If I plug my external hard drive directly into my comp it is recognized instantly and can be accessed; however if I plug it into the USB Hub it is never recognized and instead labeled as a Initio Default controller and cannot be accessed. On a similar note, if I plug in an IPOD the USB Hub will recognize it, but won't charge it. How can I fix these problems, more importantly the external hard drive recognition?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chris
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Read the instructions... They say that it will not charge very well with out the "optional" external cord. You can get it at Best Buy or online. Mine works fine.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Animal
 from
Texas
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This hub does not have a power source and so there is not enough power to use an external hard drive. This is a travel hub so it does not come with a power supply. You will need to get a hub with a power supply:

Our Dynex desktop hubs come with a power supply
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Dynex%2... Hub&cp=1&lp=7

and

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Dynex%2... Hub&cp=1&lp=8
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinRF
-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

AC power adapter

Is an AC adapter required for it's use?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Most usb hubs do not require an external power supply. The only reason to use an external power supply on a USB hub is if your pc's power supply is nearly maxed out in which you should upgrade your system to accommodate the power demands of your system.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
widenerdavid
 from
Columbus, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
My short answer is NO. It will work fine for data accessibility & file transfers to and from low-powered usb devices.

However, having an AC adapter will enable you to "recharge" multiple usb powered devices at the same time using the RocketFish hub. The appropriate power OUTPUT rating for a USB hub like this is 5V DC at 2.5 Amps, polarity = center positive +. You should never exceed that OUTPUT rating and always be aware of the output POLARITY when sourcing an ac adapter for your usb hub.

If you plan on using the RocketFish for this purpose, I've uploaded a picture of a universal AC adapter from radioshack, which has been designed and tested for use with various four-port USB hubs and it WILL work fine on this one too. I've used it for almost two years on multiple devices simultaneously; not limited to charging two cell phones at the same time; an ipad mini and a cell phone; or my Nikon camera as well as a my radar detector (an escort passport IQ) simultaneously.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ZaphodTheUltimateGeek
 from
Seattle, Washington
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

I want to connect two laptops to one printer. Do I connect them both to this hub?

I have hub rocketfish 4 port usb 2.0 hub model: RFNBSKHB
I want to connect my two laptops to one printer. Do I connect them both to the usb hub and then from the usb hub to the printer..
Thank you.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This is not the right kind of hub for that. This is a hub to connect devices into a laptop, not a laptop into devices. Generally, the USB cable connecting from the laptop to the printer is not the same size or shape as the side that plugs into a standard USB port.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
twotwotala
 from
Los Angeles, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, the laptop would have to connect to the hub then a cord from hub to printer would be used. I don't think you can do this with two laptops at a time.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NancyWV
 from
Falling waters WV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the external power supply required for the hub to work?

I am a little confused by the Q&A because it appears that an "AC adapter" isn't necessary, but then it refers to the external power supply. Isn't that the same thing? Is an external power source necessary for the hub to work? Thanks
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
New owner
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No. It is a plug in.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mikala
 from
Houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It should work as a standalone product, as it is a plug and play interface. You shouldn't need an external power supply, just a USB port.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

USB 2.0 compatibility

Computer recognizes devices plugged into the hub as USB 1.1. Are there drivers to update this to USB 2.0? Can't find anything on the site or Windows update.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nick
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If it is not recognizing it as a USB 2.0, it probably means that you have it plugged into a non-USB 2.0 port. Mine is recognized at the correct rate...
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MagicVuedoo
 from
Wausau, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This should work with USB 2.0 devices. I would also invite you to seek alternatives through http://www.Bestbuy.com/
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this work with Windows 8?

When is a driver coming out for Windows 8?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Just plug it in and it works. No need to install a driver; windows 8 took care of everything automatically.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gary1326
 from
Bethany, OK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It should work with Windows 8.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this hub come with a cable to hook up to the laptop?

Looks like just a separate hub device without any cable to attach to the laptop so you would need to buy that separately?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Madi
 from
Bloomfield, MI
on Rocketfish - 4-Port USB 2.0 Hub
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I just went to the store and bought this hub. It does come with a short cable that connects the hub to the computer. The cord neatly wraps up around the suction cup base. It sticks pretty well to my Surface and stays out of the way and does not dangle. You can keep the cord wrapped up, or extend it out to about 15 inches. So far I am happy with this product, and it was on sale today too. It also lights up with a pretty blue light.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Madi
 from
Bloomfield Hills, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The cable would need to be purchased, however, if you have a microUSB to USB sync cable, that would work as well.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>