Looking for Answers about Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Organize your fresh and frozen foods in this side-by-side refrigerator that features spill-proof, tempered-glass shelves and plenty of drawer and door storage. The Twin Cooling temperature management system ensures optimal temperatures for storing your food. Product specs and dimensions (PDF)
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions
 | 
140 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.037 out of 5
4
out of
5
(456 Reviews)456

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Question

what is the ideal temperature setting in the freezer

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
-2 degrees
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
1sttimeappliancebuyer
 from
Sumas, WA.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The ideal temperature settings for the RS265TDRS are -2°F for the Freezer and 38°F for the Fridge.
- Ms. Samsung
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the water filter located on an RS265TDRS?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sunshine
 from
Lawrenceville, Ga
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The water filter is located inside the right hand door (fridge side) all the way at the bottom right hand corner of the bottom crisper. It has a built in knob and arrows on it that show which way to turn it to open or lock.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Speraneo
 from
Marion, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The water filter in the RS265TDRS is located in the bottom right corner of the refrigerator compartment. Please refer to the attached illustration.

Thank you,
Ms. Samsung
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why does the RD265TD have so many loud noise problems

On Monday, December 30, 2013, a stainless steel RD265TD was delivered to my home with a dent on the front door. Best Buy requires the costumer to go to the store and reorder the replacement. I did just that. Of course, it had to be delivered on Thursday, Jan 2, since Wednesday was New Year's Day. But, I thought, "no big deal," I had this dented one to use until it was replaced. When I returned home 90 minutes later and entered the home through the front door, I heard the refrigerator 20' feet away. It sounded like a steel drum band had snuck into the fridge while I was gone. One could here the noise from anywhere in my home except for my bedroom "with the door shut." My bedroom is the furthest room away from the kitchen. I was bowled over since Consumer Reports gave it an "excellent" rating for noise. CR must have meant it makes excellent noise.

I called Samsung, and technician could hear the noise over the phone. After we verified that the fridge was level and stable, she agreed it was defective and needed to be replaced. But the thought of having that drum band in my home from Monday through New Year's until Thursday was .... . Except, things got worse. I was notified by Best Buy on New Year's Day that the return and replacement paperwork did not go through in time to have the delivery made until today, January 4. There's no point in expressing what these additional days were like. So, I prepared the home for this morning's delivery. They were on time and there were no dents. No steel drum band this time. Instead, now we have a high pitched whining noise, which sounds like a commercial freezer or a small private jet "whining up" the engine, which can be heard in the living room, dining room, the two nearby bedrooms, but not into the far reaches of my bedroom. Voila, we've made progress. I called Samsung technical support. This time I was told the high pitched noise was normal.

So, my questions, Ms Samsung, are these: Since you are clearly an expert in this field, can you recommend a side by side refrigerator that it quiet? Or, do you know what the problem is with these RD265TD noisemakers and have a fix? My 24-year-old Sears side by side which just rested in peace put these two RD265TD to shame as to noise. I'm most willing to buy an acceptable recommendation at Best Buy if they sell it. Thank you for your anticipated opinions and recommendations.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Marty
 from
Fort Lauderdale
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Marty, I'm very sorry to hear you're having these issues. The RS265TDRS is designed to be quiet, though this can be impacted by factors such as installation and leveling, as well as initialization of the ice maker and water lines. For example, if water isn't connected (or if there's something preventing the water from flowing) but the ice maker is turned on, the fridge may make a noise as it attempts to draw water to make ice.

Since there are various possible causes, it's important to have a qualified technician service the unit to accurately diagnose and repair an issue. I would suggest calling 888-BEST BUY or submitting an online service request through Samsung's website.

We appreciate your consideration and look forward to helping resolve your issue.
- Ms. Samsung
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Water dispenser continues to pour after cup is removed!

Can I adjust the tolerance of the water dispenser? It seems that if a cup is removed slowly, the tension of the dispenser lever does not push the lever past the stop switch. Can I adjust this somehow? Or some fix? It creates a big mess when the water continues to flow without the cup under it.....
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dink
 from
Hernando Beach, FL
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Thanks for the question. The water dispenser cannot be adjusted, and it isn't unusual for a small amount of water to continue dispensing after the paddle is released. Therefore, it's recommended that you hold the glass in place for a few seconds after releasing the paddle. If water continues to drip, it may be because there is air in the lines or the filter is clogged and needs to be replaced. To bleed air from the lines, dispense 5 or 6 gallons of water. The water filter is designed to last approximately 6 months but may become clogged sooner if the supplied water has a high level of minerals or debris. Bleed air from the lines each time you change the filter.

- Ms. Samsung
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Constantly "runs"

I have a RS265TDWP that almost never stops running. I don't just mean the fan, I am talking about the compressor(?). they tell me it needs two inches each side and back. I moved wall and base cabinets 4" just so I could open the freezer door enough to make that side useable. no one told me about the 2'' each side before i purchased the unit or at time of installation. I only found out about it after i started to read the manual to under stand the controls and temperature settings. I have tried contacting Samsung's service contractor but i am tired of getting put on hold for 16 minutes at a time only to be told to leave a message. What so i do?
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cr
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry to hear you're having an issue with your RS265TDWP. The compressor and fans are designed to run as long as they need to in order to reach then maintain the set temperature. If yours appears to be running continuously it's possible something is preventing the doors from sealing properly, or something is causing the interior temperature to fluctuate. I would suggest using a carpenter's level to make sure the unit is level, especially side to side, and check to make sure the door gaskets are sealing tightly. You can do this by inserting a dollar bill between the door and the case then closing it. If the bill pulls out with little or no resistance, the door isn't sealing. Try this in several locations around both the fridge and freezer doors.

Other possible causes include the door being opened frequently or warm food being placed inside, such as when storing leftovers. It may help to adjust the temperature settings. The ideal temperature for most models is about 38°F/-2°F for the fridge and freezer, respectively.

It may also be worth mentioning, since you didn't state how long you'd had the fridge, that it can take up to 24 hours for it to cool completely depending on how frequently the doors are opened and what the temperature settings are.

Regarding the clearance recommendations, the 2" recommendation on the side has to do with leaving space for the hinges to rotate. The clearance recommendation for air flow and efficiency is 3/8" on each side, 1" behind the fridge and 3/8" on top. Please note this information is available on the Product Specification Sheet in addition to the User Manual.

I hope this helps to resolve the issue. If not, please contact either Best Buy or Samsung for further assistance by calling 888-BEST BUY, 800-SAMSUNG; visiting your local Best Buy Appliance Department; or submitting an online service request form through Samsung's website.

Thank you,
Ms. Samsung
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Correct tempture for freezer

I have a Samsung side by side RS267LASH do not know correct tempture for freezer,what is colder -2 or -6' freezer went out and can't remember what it was set at.
Thank you for any help greatly appreciated

Beverly Bork
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Your setting may make little difference. I tried a variety of settings to determine the lowest temperature and found the -6 is actually Zero degrees. The refrigerator settings follow the same design minimum; 34 degrees is actually 40 degrees. I used a separate temperature gauge to determine actual numbers. The local Board of Health requires these temperatures (40 and 0) as mimimum temperatures for food preservation. I set my refrigerator at 34 degrees and the freezer at -6 and forget it. The milk is cold and lasts 3-4 weeks and the ice cream is a brick, so I worry not. By the way, I keep my first floor at 70 degrees throughout the winter to avoid reoccurring pneumonia.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Geoff14
 from
Cape Cod, MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. The ideal temperatures for the fridge and freezer compartments of Samsung Side by Side models are 38ºF and -4ºF, respectively. In answer to the second part of your question, -6º is colder than -2º.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

noise from inside

I hear a werring noise from inside that slows to a stop when I open the ref door
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's normal when i open, nothing at all
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Huskers2540
 from
Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's normal for the fans in the cooling system to make a quiet whirring sound then stop when the door is opened. To help minimize the sounds that the compressor and fans may make, make sure the fridge is level.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can u get like coca cola in samsungs fridge with soda stream or is it just sparkling water

1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jay
 from
1047
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Just drinking water.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
bkt499
 from
katy, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for your question. The RF31FMESBSR with the Sparkling Water feature offers 3 levels of carbonation, all of which produce sparkling water rather than carbonated soda. If you'd like to add flavor to the sparkling water, you should use a type of flavoring that can be added to the glass since flavors cannot be added to the water prior to it being dispensed. It's also worth noting that the side by side model you submitted this question through, the RS265TDRS, does not have the sparkling water feature.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why is the ice cubes so noisy when they are dumped?

We have had our ref about 9 months and like it. It is a french door ref . When the ref dumps the ice cubes it makes a fairly loud noise. Everything works fine, except for the ice dumping. Never had this before with a ref. Thanks
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have this same fridge and when we dispense ice cubes, it does make the normal noise of dispensing ice cubes....but nothing that I would describe as fairly loud. You may want to get it checked out.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JFS6
 from
Colorado
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. If the ice bucket is empty, it is likely to make more noise when the ice dumps from the trays than if it's full, or even half full. To minimize the noise, it may help to maintain some ice in the bucket to help "break the fall" as new cubes are harvested. If this doesn't muffle the noise enough, you can also turn the ice maker off when you're at home or in close proximity to the fridge.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Water Line Kit when moving to a new house

Do I need to purchase and use a new water line kit if I move to a new house? My Ref is just a year old so with the water line kit. I was wondering because Sears recommended to buy a new water line kit when I bought it a year ago since existing water line kit of the old Refrigerator was not recommended to be used again.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SamFri
 from
Fort Worth, TX
on Samsung - 25.5 Cu. Ft. Side-by-Side Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it is better that you buy a new kit for the installation!
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
macla75
 from
Alpharetta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Whether you need to replace the water line installation kit that is only a year old really depends on whether it's damaged or still in good condition. If you do choose to disassemble then reuse the existing water line, it's recommended that you cut off 1/4” of the plastic tubing to make sure you get a snug, leak-free connection.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>