Looking for Answers about Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black

Store important documents, special photos, favorite tunes and more on this spacious 1TB external hard drive that features an internal shock sensor and ramp loading technology to protect the hard drive while you're on the go.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions
 | 
20 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(12 Reviews)12

Questions & Answers for Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black

Question

Can I back up 2 Computers on single portable hard drive?

1. Can I do a full system backup in NTFS format using Windows 7 back up proceedure?
2. Can I store 2 computers back ups on this device?
3. Can I restore the back up from 1 computer to a different computer?
4. Can the back up be deleted from portable hard drive?
5. Do I need to reformat Toshiba for NTFS?
Thank You
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Frank
 from
Cherry Hill
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
does this have a ac power cord or does ac power run with usb cord?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
tom
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
i can help you with your first question.

You can do a full system backup in NTFS format with the window 7 back up proceedure, any type of backup program can work on a portable hard drive
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
skippy
 from
tamaqua
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Here are my answers in order:

1. I’m not familiar with Windows 7 backup capabilities. Our drives are formatted NTFS.

2. Yes you can, the software will automatically create a separate folder for each computer.

3. We strongly recommend against trying this. Computers typically have different hardware, firmware and drivers that could cause conflicts.

4. Yes, simply delete the folder that holds the backup.

5. Our drives are formatted NTFS for optimal performance. There is no need to reformat the drive.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use with my bluyray or TV ?

I tried to connect other HD's in blueray and did not work.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If I can hook a 16GB USB Cruzer drive up to the usb port on the blu-ray player and the blu-ray player plays .avi files then why wouldn't an external hard drive work as well?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Brian
 from
Birmingham, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It depends,

Most players on the market with added features like reading USB are designed to read FAT file systems. For the most part, I haven't had much success connecting an NTFS formatted drive to any of these devices. This is probably due to the fact that NTFS is sole propriety of Microsoft, and thus no other non-MS device will be able to read this filesystem due to legal implications.

Formatting the drive to a FAT32 file system may work, but not always, as the multimedia devices such as TVs and Blu-Ray players may have a limitation on the maximum Hard Drive size they can read. I'm not too sure if they can support FAT32 drives that are 1TB in size, this will need to be tested.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this FAT32?

can it be used with apple or windows pc? Is it FAT32? What is the warranty? How long has it been out? Why isn't this info in the product details?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ryan
 from
Simsbury, CT
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This drive comes with a NTFS partition although I am sure you could repartition it to FAT32 if you wanted to.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Billfog
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This drive is brand new. It is FAT32.

Here are the system requirements:
Windows® XP, Vista or 7 OS (For Mac user using either Mac OS® X Tiger®, Leopard® or Snow Leopard™, reformat is required)

Three-year limited warranty
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I cancel the complete system backup?

I'm not looking for a complete backup to my PC; only file storage. Can I cancel the complete system backup that it has?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The first thing I did when I plugged it in was to delete the backup software. You do not have to use it and you can use the drive for simple file storage, I do.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Billfog
 from
Oklahoma
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I partition and use for Drag and Drop

Can I partition the drive to 2-3 and use as NTFS/FAT.
Does it support drag and drop? Means can I download files directly to this drive without having at my PC?

Please let me know as these are blocking me from buying the drive

Thanks
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RAVIKIRAN
 from
CA
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it is possible to have multiple partitions with different formats (as long as you have the software to create/format the partitions). It is also possible to save files directly to the Canvio hard drive without having the files be saved to the PC’s internal drive.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What do you mean by "reformatting"?

In one of the question about if this item is compatible with MAC, the answer said "yes", but
need reformatting. What does that mean?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Per a previous Toshiba answer, the drive's filesystem is NTFS. This filesystem is used by the NT class operating systems (Windows NT, 2000, XP, Vista, 7) from Microsoft and is proprietary (although drivers do exist for Linux that allow that class of operating systems to use it).

Apple systems, such as the Macintosh, do not support NTFS most likely due to legal concerns. They can't read the NTFS file system on the disk. However, you can still use the drive if you replace the NTFS filesystem on the disk with one that the Macintosh OS will understand. This process is known as reformatting.

The OS itself should have the ability to reformat hard disk drives and should be able to see the hard drive when hooked to the computer (although it won't be able to read it). A web search for your particular OS should give precise instructions on how to do this. During reformatting, all data that is on the disk is destroyed, so be aware that you will lose any of the included software (but if you are using a MAC, this software won't necessarily work for you anyway).

One more consideration: once this drive is reformatted to the filesystem used by your OS, it will probably not be readable on a Windows PC (They generally only understand FAT and NTFS type filesystems without special software). So, if you are planning to interoperate with those types of systems, you may have a problem.

Hope this helps.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i exchange data between a Mac and a PC with this hard drive, and if not which ones can?

The computers at my school are macs and i have a pc at home and i will need to be able to back up both without having to erase data every time.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
North Charleston
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No, the drive needs to be reformatted when using with a PC and/or Mac.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is the cable?

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JB
 from
Battle Ground,WA
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The cord that comes with it is 18" long It is a regular USB connection at one end and mini-usb at the other.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Billfog
 from
Oklahoma
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i secure my hard drive with a password so no one can have access to it?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, you can secure your backup with a password (Data Encryption up to 256-bit).
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Linux compatibility

I have not read anything about Linux compatibility and my question is: I guess the HD has software pre-installed and runs with Windows and Mac as well with the requirement of a previous formating.

But in case that I am not interested in the software features that the HD offers and only wants to a plug and play external hard drive without any kind of software on it, is possible to format the whole HD and use it like a "huge USB flash drive" that every OS can recognize (at least Linux based ones)?.

Thank you and best regards.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Isslieb
 from
Monterrey, Nuevo León
on Toshiba Canvio Plus 1TB External USB 2.0 Portable Hard Drive - Raven Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I have a normal hard drive that I save my videos and music and when I change to Linux it sees what I have.

If you want better linux support I suggest Ubuntu.

And if you want to try linux before installing you can go with Wubi.

http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/windows-installer
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tiago
 from
East Providence
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>