Looking for Answers about LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White

This LG WM3987HW washer and dryer combo is ideal for limited space situations where no external venting source is available, and the full-size 3.6 cu. ft. tub means you won't have to compromise on capacity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions
 | 
57 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(21 Reviews)21

Questions & Answers for LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White

Question

How do I dry only without going through a wash cycle? And why won't the dryer automatically dry my comforter?

I noticed the bulky cycle will not display a dry cycle automatically. Does this mean the machine does not want to dry such a bulky item? I noticed someone said they washed and dried their comforter. Do you have to do it on some other cycle? Also how do I dry an item without washing it.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Kat
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
take out your comforter from the washer and set the dryer setting first and leave the other wash settings blank, then put the comforter back in the washer and the dry setting should only be highlighted to dry your comforter.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You could use the cotton/normal cycle, you will have to use a full cycle program, it cannot just dry.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does it take to wash and dry?

If I put a normal load of clothes in, how long until they are finished and dry?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
emmy111
 from
pennsylvania
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
ex. i put 7 towels 4 pairs of jeans and two days worth of my kids clothes plus whatever else was around dry and folded two clothes baskets full about 4.5 to 5 hours
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wgreegor1
 from
ohio
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you use the "damp" dry setting, it takes about 2.5 hours to wash and dry. *Most* loads come out slightly damp, but after I shake the clothes out and all the steam evaporates from them, they are usually dry enough to hang up for fold and put away. The "normal" dry setting takes about 5 hours to wash and dry, with plenty of dryness for just about everything. I have never used the "more" dry setting.

One thing that helps is make sure the washer isn't packed full. Make sure the washer is not so full that the clothes can't tumble freely. If its not overloaded, the clothes aren't very wrinkled. If the washer is packed super full, the clothes come out pretty wrinkled and need ironed.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Beks
 from
San Jose
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Washer & Dryer Outlet

does this require one outlet only- a Dryer Outlet? does it require a 4-prong outlet? Or is a washing machine outlet also required?
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Leti
 from
Sacramento, CA
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it uses a regular 3-prong 110v power outlet, just like your computer.
It does not require a dryer vent.
you need a hot and cold water line, of course.

The dryer works by dehumidifying the inside air, sending the water vapor out a hose and down your drain.
it does this quite well, but a bit slower than a regular dryer since it uses 110v instead of a big dryer's 220v power plug.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tyler
 from
Eugene, OR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WM3987HW has only one normal 3 prong plug (120V, 12 Amps). No other outlet is required.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this unit compatible with the LGPORTKIT - LG Washer Dryer Combo Portability Kit?

I'm in my own home now but plan to move into an apartment in a few years. I'd like to know if this portability kit will work with this machine so that it can be rolled into a storage closet when not in use.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
KZ
 from
Luck, WI
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I can now answer my own question.
YES.
LG makes a Portability Kit for this Washer/Dryer.
This kit includes everything you need to make an LG washer dryer combo (models WM3677HW, WM3431HW, WM3431HS, WM3455HW, WM3455HS, WM3987HW, and WM3988HW) portable. Simply hook up the faucet adapter to your faucet, hook the y connector to the faucet adapter and water inlet hoses, and you're ready to go! The casters included in this kit replace the leveling legs on the washer dryer, so you will have a truly portable laundry processor.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
KZ
 from
Luck, WI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what size washer for queen size comforters

2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
A 3.6 cu.ft. unit, such as the one you are asking about, can hold a queen sized comforter.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how much water use on largest load?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
i use it in my apt and do one very large load a day (fam of four) and my landlord hasnt noticed any extra water usage yet but she knew when i had a leaking faucet and came right over to fix by the way they pay utilities
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wgreegor1
 from
ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Most front load washers use appx 10-15 gallons per load. I would guess 15 gallons.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Beks
 from
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

circut overload?

will this extra load on 120V cause the circuit breakers to switch off?

Will I need to add another circuit breaker box? This house is old and gets overloaded easily
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have used it with my air conditioner (5000 btu and it is fine) and lights are also connected to it. When I use my microwave though with it it does blow to circuit.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gavipgh
 from
Pittsburgh PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Just make sure your circuit breaker meets the requirements:
POWER SOURCE
Electrical Requirements: 120V, 12 Amps
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what kind of a cord is it ?do I have to install a special outlet?why the cord is not included

why the cord is not included?or I have to re do all the wireing in my house in order to have this washer it sounds wierd to me.What so special about it
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it includes a cord. The cord is permanently attached to the unit, and looks like the end of an extension cord. it only uses 110v, and doesn't require a big dryer outlet appliance plug.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This combination washer / dryer is perfect if you don't have an external venting source, which conventional dryers require, and it runs on standard voltage electricity.

As one of the reviewers mention - "It does *not* need a dryer cord, though the website says it does. It comes with a standard 110 grounded power cord that is attached and ready to go."
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

drying jeans

I was wondering how long it would take to dry a load of jeans? Lets say 5 jeans for arguements sake. I'm in the market for either an all in one this this machine or a stackable.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
they won't ever dry. unless you take them out and put them on a clothesline. this machine won't even dry a load of Nike dri-fit workout shirts.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Sorry that measurement is not available to me, please feel free to contact LG Customer Service at (800) 243-0000 or visit the support section of our website at www.LG.com/us/support/ for assistance.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Drying time

When you say long dry time, how long for a load of jeans as compared to a vented dryer?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on LG - 3.6 Cu. Ft. 9-Cycle Washer and 6-Cycle Dryer Combo - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
As it turns out, we haven't compared the time differences. These washer dryer combo units are a great solution for homes that don't have a lot of space. My family has one and it's an amazing household helper. I recommend this to anybody who is looking for a space saving laundry solution.
Thank you for your question.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LGAnswers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>